PDA

View Full Version : IT Training suggestions?

hambone79
December 8th, 2008, 04:58 PM
I am a mechanical engineer that spends about 75% of my time doing design work (via Pro/Engineer) and about 25% of my time administrating the server where all of our CAD data and engineering files are stored. I also spend a good bit of time helping to write the company configurations for Pro/Engineer and Perl scripts to automate tasks for the engineers.

I have had a few people mention that I should go ahead and get some IT related certification because it may help me move up in our Engineering Services organization. I talked to my boss about this and he said he would be willing to ask the company to pay for my certifications if I can come up with a proposal for needing the training. I don't even know where I should start on this so I'm looking for suggestions for IT training (that give certifications) that covers some of these topics:

- Pro/Engineer administration
- Windows system administration
- Linux system administration
- Perl scripting
- SQL databases
- Networking

Thanks!

hambone79
December 9th, 2008, 03:14 AM
Nobody has any suggestions? Just to be clear, I'm looking for basic certifications that will look good on a resume.

tvtech
December 9th, 2008, 03:23 AM