PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Cannot get Ubuntu into my machine for love nor money!!

karamu
December 8th, 2008, 11:45 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for about six months now and am very happy to have made the switch from Wondows! Recently due to a hardware problem I rebuilt my machine (the specs are in my signature)- since I did though I am experiencing severe installation problems for the first time- it worked like charm on my previous machine! I have tried three different ways to install Ubuntu which I will detail here- any pointers/ ideas/ suggestions would be very welcome as I am getting severely frustrated with using Windows (I want my cube back!!)

1) Using Ubunto 8.10 live CD- after the initial screen where you can choose to install Ubuntu, check CD etc, when I try to launch Ubuntu, I get a black sceen and a message something like "(some numbers- sorry didn't write them down) error aperture too small 32MB not 64MB".

Nowhere in my BIOS can I find a setting related to aperture- the onboard video RAM is set at 256MB. I have the same problem whether I use 32 or 64 bit (I want to use 64)

2) Ubuntu 8.04 (64bit) live CD launches fine- get to the desktop environment and launch the installer program and then it starts to act strange. I have a minimal XP installation on the disc already- about 4gig- when I get to the partitioner section, it won't let me allocate any less than about 30gig to XP- it says too small. I then start the partitioner and it starts to work then hangs at 0%- the screen freezes and I need to do a hardware reset.

3( Ubuntu 8.04 alternate install CD (64bit). Everything seems to go OK- the partitioner runs OK, although I still get too small when I try to give XP 10 or even 20 gigs. The installation proceeds fine until the very end when it trys to install GRUB- this fails for some reason!