PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Burn CD Image?

Camaro
December 7th, 2008, 08:11 AM
Hi all,

I'm VERY new to Linux/Ubuntu, and I honestly have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to this OS that I've heard nothing but good things about.

Anyway, I have a very simple question regarding tbe ISO image. It is 698MB on disk, and I have a CD-RW that I'm trying to write it to that only has 655MB of space. How exactly would I go about burning this image? Is there another version of Linux I could download that would fit on this CD? Could I somehow compress it and keep the files needed to install intact? Simply put, I don't have the time or money to go out and buy a CD-R/RW that has enough space to burn it to.

Also, the reason I plan on using Ubuntu is because, and correct me if I'm wrong, I read that it can boot from an external hard drive connected through USB? Or perhaps it's some other version of Linux that I have to use?

Thanks in advance. Sorry if I've asked questions that have already been answered. I am quite desperate and frankly don't have time to sift through FAQs or google searches.

taurus
December 7th, 2008, 08:20 AM
If you don't want to spend the money to get the 700MB CDR, then request a free Ubuntu CD!

https://shipit.ubuntu.com/

Camaro
December 7th, 2008, 08:29 AM
Thanks, but I already did that. I'll look forward to it in 6 weeks. For now, I NEED a computer for multiple reasons, and I basically need it now. Any other help is appreciated

inobe
December 7th, 2008, 08:29 AM
thought this would be useful to you .

i hope its helpful, the link contains many methods that will install ubuntu without a cd.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation#Installation%20without%20a%20CD

inobe
December 7th, 2008, 08:52 AM
this may also help you with the external drive, the link contains flash drive information too, just follow what applies to you.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1004240

falcon61102
December 7th, 2008, 09:08 AM