PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] how to install programs i need help :(

homerm06
December 6th, 2008, 06:12 PM
Sorry guys, I'm a big noob!

I need help on how to install programs such as Yahoo Messenger, Avast, and some other programs. I don't know whether to get deb files or rem or tar g something. I should let you know that I'm a Vista user just trying to use Ubuntu. So I'm used to just clicking a folder and clicking "Install." Is there a way?

By the way, I save all files to my desktop for easy access.

taurus
December 6th, 2008, 06:13 PM
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installingsoftware

lovelyvik293
December 6th, 2008, 06:16 PM
First of all do not post these type of things here post them to the absolute biggners section.
Now the avast is not avaliable for Ubuntu.Yahoo messanger is avaliable and can be download from it's site.
And if you want to install other softwares for ubuntu you dont have to download the deb files manualy just go to the synaptic manager(System->administration->synaptic) and download the software.

birddog165
December 6th, 2008, 06:22 PM
Part of the fun of Ubuntu is that you get to try out new programs. I used to be a die hard AIM fan. Now I use Pidgin. You should at least give it a try. Here are some screenshots:
Google Images: Pidgin (http://images.google.com/images?q=pidgin&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&um=1&sa=N&tab=wi)

Also, I didn't know what Avast was so I looked it up. I think that it's an anti-virus program. The other fun part of Ubuntu is that you really don't need anti-virus/spyware/advare...etc programs. Nobody writes viruses for linux because it's so much more effective to hack windows.
[Anyone can please correct me on this if I am wrong]

Good luck

homerm06
December 6th, 2008, 06:26 PM
Part of the fun of Ubuntu is that you get to try out new programs. I used to be a die hard AIM fan. Now I use Pidgin. You should at least give it a try. Here are some screenshots: