PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Ubuntu maximize like OS X zoom

adelgado
December 6th, 2008, 03:34 AM
I've been using Linux for quite a few years now, and recently I became aware of an implementation difference of windows' behavior on GNOME/KDE/Windows and OS X.

The point is that when you maximize a window in Ubuntu, the window resizes itself to take up the whole screen space. But in OS X when you click on what they call the "Zoom" button (which strangely has a + sign even though it actually shrinks the windows some times) the window doesn't fills the screen, it only maximizes itself to the largest *useful* size.

That is, let's say you are reading a blog entry on a fixed-width layout, as this[1] one. if you are on any reasonably large resolution (e.g. I'm on 1280x1024), you'll end up with two large columns of emptiness that could be displaying another window.

I find the OS X manners way more intelligent.

Is there some way I could get this kind of behavior on Ubuntu?

[1] http://blog.nixternal.com/2008.12.05/tied-for-5th-in-fsf-referrers/

dyous87
December 6th, 2008, 10:41 PM
This is a very intuitive feature and I would also be very interested of learning a way of accomplishing something like this in Ubuntu.

benerivo
December 6th, 2008, 11:41 PM
That sounds like a useful feature. Does this work on all Mac programs? Does it alter the window height as well as width?

adelgado
December 9th, 2008, 07:55 PM
This is a very intuitive feature and I would also be very interested of learning a way of accomplishing something like this in Ubuntu.

Indeed... (bump)

That sounds like a useful feature. Does this work on all Mac programs? Does it alter the window height as well as width?

AFAIK yes, but I don't have any access to Mac OS X right now, this is from memory.

Does anyone knows if this has been discussed already?

El Chupacabras
December 9th, 2008, 09:09 PM