PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install problem(s)

rdotex
December 5th, 2008, 11:02 PM
I downloaded and burned a CD of 8.04.1 and used the LiveCD several times to be sure everything worked. In fact, I was very pleased, since my LAN was detected and was accessible, as was the internet. So, I decided to install it. This was on a machine that I had been running Linspire for several years, the last was v6.0.

The install took over 2 hours. Now, when I boot, I get a black screen with the logo and a small bar beneath that goes back and forth for a minute or so, then stops for a couple of minutes and gives me a terminal screen with a lot of data scrolling which stops with the following displayed:

"Starting up ...
Loading, please wait...
kinit: name_to_dev_t(/dev/disk/by-uuid/33e08db3-f6c7-4f31-aa5f-a20b98fa4dd7) = sda3(8,3)
kinit: trying to resume from /dev/disk/by-uuid/33e08db3-f6c7-4f31-aa5f-a20b98fa4dd7
kinit: No resume image, doing normal boot...

Ubuntu 8.04.1 No1 tty1

No1 login: "

When I login using my known id and pwrd, I get a fast scrolling screen that stops with a screen full of
"-bash: /dev/null: Permission denied" followed by
ron@No1:~$

I don't know what to do now.

Any suggestions?

jenkinbr
December 5th, 2008, 11:08 PM
Sounds like you had an installation issue. Have you tried re-installing to see if this is reproduced?

Therion
December 5th, 2008, 11:09 PM
Almost without exception when I've had an issue like that it's been due to a bad burn of the install media. I'd suggest you re-burn the install disc and burn it really slooooow (e.g. 2x for a DVD, 16x for a CD).

Also, did you verify the download using the SHA-1 or MD5 Sum?

I use torrents exclusively any more since every torrent download is self-verifying and eliminates the need for MD5/SHA-1 checks.

rdotex
December 5th, 2008, 11:15 PM
I haven't tried to re-install, since it took so long the first time I was hoping I wouldn't need to do that.