PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Asus G50Vt-X1 Ubuntu Installation

mertyamak
December 5th, 2008, 08:37 AM
Hi,
I am new to Ubuntu and its community. I work as a lighting & shading TD for CG industry and i wish to install Ubuntu on my Asus G50Vt-X1 laptop. I have opened this thread just to learn if anyone has attempted to install Ubuntu on this particular hardware and suceeded. What worked fine and what didn't work at all. I am very new to the Linux environment so it is a bit scary for me to troubleshoot the possible problems. So maybe i am hoping to find a step by step guide to this installation. I have also searched through the forums and found out some information on G50V series. I am not sure if that information will work for my hardware though. Any help will be very much appreciated.

riblet
January 22nd, 2009, 02:30 PM
I just installed Ubuntu 8.10 on this laptop (dual booting with the default Vista64 install) with only one minor adjustment.

In the BIOS, change the default SATA options from "Enchanced" to "Compatible" - this will prevent you from getting SQUASHFS I/O errors during the installation. Once the installation is done, you can change the setting back to "Enchanced".

Other than that, everything seems to get working very well. Next step is to get the latest NVidia drivers (v180.22) up and running.

Stay tuned.

troegs
January 30th, 2009, 12:54 AM
I am actually doing this exact operation as I write this. In fact it was some of the difficulties I've experienced in installing ubuntu into the Asus G50vt-X1 that I received not but a few hours ago, (while I was at class). The first issue I've run into is the one mentioned before. getting an VFS error that repeated over and over and over. I've gone into the bios and changed the parts that were mentioned in the earlier post.