PDA

View Full Version : OpenGL and non-square textures

mee.six
December 4th, 2008, 10:04 PM
Hello,

I'm new to OpenGL, and can't create a non-square texture. Can anyone help?

best regards,
mee

Sydius
December 5th, 2008, 01:31 AM
As in rectangular, 1-dimensional, 3-dimensional, or something else?

slavik
December 5th, 2008, 07:52 AM
if you are talking about a shape that does not fit a quad (circle?), you can map it onto a quad, but made the parts of the textures that are supposed to be invisible transparent.

please explain in a little more detail what you are hoping to achieve.

mee.six
December 5th, 2008, 09:23 AM
Thanks for such a fast reaction!

I'm doing an augmented reality app, and my aim is to put some image over a marker in webcam's picture at the right angle. Everything works great, except the fact, that I'm using a texture (a ppm file) only in specifiled size. A side length of texture can be only power of two (2^n). When I use other image size, I only get a white square.

Here is the code:

glGenTextures(1, &pgm_texID);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, pgm_texID);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTE R,GL_LINEAR);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, width, height, 0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE,texpgm);

texpgm - is a texture read from ppm file.

And then something like that:

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, camera_texID);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, 1024, 1024, 0, GL_BGR_EXT, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE,cam_tex_img);

glutPostRedisplay();

Kazade
December 5th, 2008, 12:26 PM
OK a couple things. Firstly are you definitely calling glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D)?

Secondly:

glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, 1024, 1024, 0, GL_BGR_EXT, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE,cam_tex_img);

might need to be changed to:

glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTE R,GL_LINEAR);

As you aren't using mipmaps, and the default MAG_FILTER is GL_MIPMAP_LINEAR (IIRC).

mee.six
December 6th, 2008, 11:36 AM