PDA

View Full Version : [mythbuntu] cannot get two computers to connect



kainalu
December 4th, 2008, 07:10 PM
Im having an odd problem.

I have three computers in my room 192.168.0.100 , 101 , and 102

the two computers 192.168.0.101 and 102 can talk perfectly and 192.168.0.100 and 101 can talk perfectly but 100 cannot talk to 102.

the following are not right:

attempt to ssh from 102 leads to changed host key error. after deleting ~/.ssh/known_hosts, the server ( 100 ) repeatedly rejects a good password. ssh from 101 works fine.

attempts to get to ( 100 ) from ( 102 ) through mythtv get a database error. ( 101 ) can talk just fine and show tv.

attempts to get to mythweb through 102 fail, but work fine through 101.

i can ping the server fine however from anywhere
there are no firewalls anywhere.
I have tried resetting the router and the router config checks out fine
it was working last week.


thank you for the help!

Iowan
December 5th, 2008, 07:28 PM
All 3 machines have the same usernames (at least the one you're using)?

kainalu
December 6th, 2008, 02:53 AM
actually no, all three are different

kainalu
December 16th, 2008, 02:42 AM
anybody know what is going on?

ssh will attempt to connect but rejects my password. the rest simply don't work. still having trouble

Iowan
December 16th, 2008, 06:02 PM
You can log onto that machine locally with the same username/password?

kainalu
December 18th, 2008, 12:43 PM
yes, all works well locally, but remotely:

no ssh
no mythtv
no mysqlserver
no http


weird huh?

The Cog
December 18th, 2008, 07:56 PM
It all makes me wonder if you are talking to the machine you think you are. Just to double-check, I would run arp -an and ifconfig on each machine, and double-check that each machines arp table contains the correct MAC addresses for the other two machines.

chessmani
December 28th, 2008, 12:03 AM
Are they in the same subnet? How are the computers physically connected?

kainalu
January 17th, 2009, 04:02 PM
it turned out the wireless part of the router somehow gave out 192.168.0.100 to both the laptop and the server. I turned off wireless and it now works fine. thanks for all your help guys