PDA

View Full Version : microkernels

meg23
December 4th, 2008, 07:02 AM
What do you think about microkernels and minnix. Is a microkernel even practical for an everyday OS?

Npl
December 4th, 2008, 07:17 AM
they are a nice concept, unfortunatly they dont match well with having seperate processpaces - Thats why monolithic kernels are so common nowadays.
A good example for a micro-kernel is the AmigaOS, its was as pure as microkernels could get.

MikeTheC
December 4th, 2008, 08:55 AM
If I'm not mistaken, the kernel in Mac OS X is a micro kernel.

Not being a programmer, I have no personal opinion one way or the other. I know that Linus Torvalds has basically said that micro kernels are interesting and have a certain beauty from an academic study point-of-view, but that they tend to become very complex to work on, and can have the potential to inflict a performance penalty because of all the extra overhead induced by the massive amount of inter-application communication which has to take place between the various different modules.

For what it's worth, Richard Stallman used to be a very serious proponent of micro kernel architecture. Whether he still is or not, I haven't a clue.

My own thinking on the matter is that monolithic kernels are probably better due to the reasons listed above. Anything which prevents needless complexity in a system is almost always a good thing, and anything which prevents needless consumption of overhead is also a good thing.

CholericKoala
December 4th, 2008, 09:03 AM
Mac OSX is not a microkernel. Their programmers screwed up the first Mach kernel so they had to make a cop-out version, the hybrid kernel which still has all the drivers running inside the kernel. That's why it still crashses.

Microkernels are far superior to monolithic kernels in every way. They are equal in speed now that they have been rewritten from scratch. Nobody will adopt it yet since only hybrid kernels have been popularized.

MikeTheC