PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu, Kubuntu or Edubuntu?

rocp
December 7th, 2005, 04:35 AM
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here, and I would like to say hello to everyone and apologize if I write or do anything stupid. I must say also that english is not my native tongue, so you may see some mispelling or miswriting here. Not a great start, uh?

Here is the deal:

I'm the CIO for a health care institution in Brazil, and we just got some funds to apply in a computer laboratory for the patients. We already decided for linux, and Ubuntu is now our most probable distro choice. But I'm facing a doubt that maybe someone can help me to clarify: should we use Ubuntu, Kubuntu or Edubuntu?

The laboratory will be used to introduce computer and internet to very poor patients (who never or almost never had access to a computer), providing them a new professional carreer option/tool (most of them just can't attend to a regular fixed time job due to their illness). A considerable part of the patients are children (we plan to have distinct groups/classes).

Any opinion or consideration will be appreciated. We are also looking for teaching material, if anyone can tip me about it.

Please forgive me if this is not the apropriate thread for this... just point me the way.

TIA,

rocp
----------
BH - Brazil

erikpiper
December 7th, 2005, 04:52 AM
Edubuntu is for little kiddies (Think games with what is 2+2?) so it is out
Kubuntu is ubuntu with KDE
Ubuntu is with gnome.

I say ubuntu because gnome runs better on slower computers.
Do you know how to use linux?

UbuWu
December 7th, 2005, 12:54 PM
Edubuntu can be used to easily set up terminal servers.

rocp
December 7th, 2005, 09:59 PM
Edubuntu is for little kiddies (Think games with what is 2+2?) so it is out
Kubuntu is ubuntu with KDE
Ubuntu is with gnome.

I say ubuntu because gnome runs better on slower computers.
Do you know how to use linux?

Hi,

Thanks for your comment:)