PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fresh Install of Ubuntu Error 21 on Main Harddrive

tresanus
December 3rd, 2008, 04:18 PM
Okay I am brand new to linux. I bought an Asus EEE 701sd a couple days ago and installed Ubuntu EEE from a flash card onto the hard drive. Everything was working magically.

I always knew I was going to install XP on the machine as soon as I bought a USB cd rom but wanted to test out linux to see what it was all about.

I decided to install Ubuntu to a SD card incase I wanted to boot up linux and mess around with it once I had XP on the main drive. This is where the madness starts.

When I removed the SD card and tried to boot back onto the hard drive I got the Error 21. So me, not knowing much about computers, decided to format and fresh install ubuntu on the hard drive. Through google searched I am learning that the error relates to my GRUB and that upon boot my system cannot find the grub loader or something??

Any help would be appreciated, hopefully this is an easy problem to fix!

Tres

tresanus
December 3rd, 2008, 04:20 PM
Just to let everyone know there is nothing on this machine I need to save. I want to wipe the hard drive and start fresh, I guess I just need to fix the grub or boot loader or something.

Thank in advance for whatever help you guys might provide!

Tres

caljohnsmith
December 3rd, 2008, 04:58 PM
What happened is that when you installed Ubuntu to your SD card, Grub by default is installed to the MBR (Master Boot Record) of your internal HDD so that when you reboot, you should get the Grub menu and can boot Ubuntu. The big disadvantage of this though is that your two drives are dependent on each other for booting, so if you remove the SD card, you will get a Grub error like you got.