PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Gsync and Unison have stopped working

gdbutcher
December 3rd, 2008, 12:53 AM
I'm running Ubuntu 8.10 on both my Desktop, and trusty NX9005 laptop. Laptop connects to internet and desktop through wireless router.

I installed Gsync and Unison on saturday, they both worked brilliantly for 3 days then have suddenly stopped. I've been using the GUIs for both apps, the error messages are:

Unison: Fatal error lost connection with server

Gsync: ssh: connect to host 192.***.*.* port 22: No route to host

rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [sender]
rsync error: unexplained error (code 255) at io.c(635) [sender=3.0.3]

Whats the problem? and how do I solve it? I'm fairly new to linux. Any help you could give would be much appreciated.

gTinker
December 3rd, 2008, 03:56 PM
Whats the problem? and how do I solve it? I'm fairly new to linux. Any help you could give would be much appreciated.

OK, have a close look at the error messages.

Unison: Fatal error lost connection with server

Gsync: ssh: connect to host 192.***.*.* port 22: No route to host

rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [sender]
rsync error: unexplained error (code 255) at io.c(635) [sender=3.0.3]

Notice that in both cases it indicates that there is no connection. That is a network problem. You will have to determine what has changed since it was working. Was either system rebooted, upgraded, etc? You can use the tool ping to test the connection by trying to ping from one system to the other by IP address. Verify, the IP address on both machines with sudo ifconfig. Post back with more information about how your network is configured and/or ask any further questions that come up for you. There will be lots of people here to try and help.

gdbutcher
December 6th, 2008, 02:39 AM