Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: I can't increase screen resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    183

    I can't increase screen resolution

    Hello!! I can't increase my screen resolution to higher than 800x600. In Windows I have a 1024x768 resolution. This is my xorg.conf file

    Code:
    # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
    # in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
    # here are ignored.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    #   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier    "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier    "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier    "Default Screen"
        Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
        Device        "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    I've probed too this thread in this forum, http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1330434, but it not work

    Many thanks to all

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    Post your monitor make/model, and the output of:

    Code:
    lspci | grep VGA

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Linz, Austria
    Beans
    43

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    You should add in the Section Monitor (xorg.conf file) something like this:
    HorizSync 30-65
    VertRefresh 50-75

    If I'm right the ranges could be different and they are depending on monitor type. I add this to lines in my file and it was working, I could select 1024x768 resolution.
    You should make backup copy of the original xorg.conf file just in case if something goes wrong.
    "Smile for the camera sweetheart. I really wanna immortalize the moment."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I think I'm here! Maybe?
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    You may also want to add other resolution info in the file. Here's mine:-

    Code:
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "my-radeon"
        Driver         "ati"
    EndSection 
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier    "Configured Monitor"
                HorizSync    30-80
                VertRefresh    50-75
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier    "Default Screen"
        Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
        Device        "my-radeon"
        DefaultDepth    16
        SubSection "Display"
            Modes        "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    I have a default depth of 16 as compiz will not work with my card and 24 bit colour. You may not need that, nor the Driver "ati" line

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    183

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    Grenage, here is the output:

    Code:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 86C326 5598/6326 (rev 92)
    ajgreeny,James, thanks for your help, but I don't understand your advices, I am new in ubuntu.

    Many thanks to all!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    I'll be honest and say that I've never actually managed to help anyone with an SiS card, but let's have a go anyhow. I don't know your monitor model or specs, so I left HorizSync and VertRefresh values out. If you can find them on your manufacturer's website, add them under the Monitor section.

    Once that's done, backup your existing xorg.conf:

    Code:
    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup

    Use the following code to replace your existing config, with your Hor/Ver sync rates. If you are struggling to find them, post your monitor make and model and I'll have a look.

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "generic"
    ModelName "unknown"
    Modeline "1024x768_60.00"  64.11  1024 1080 1184 1344  768 769 772 795  -HSync +Vsync
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    VendorName "SiS"
    Driver "sis"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    If that doesn't work, try removing the driver line. If that doesn't work, try using the "vesa" driver.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    183

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    Many thanks, Grenage. I tried your three advices but it doesn't work. My Monitor is Yuraku, model M2AABJ. Many thanks for your help Grenage!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    183

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    Hello!! I have solved the problem. By searching in the web i found a similar problem, and i pasted it. But there is another problem, I have a small refresh and it is annoying. this is my xorg.conf now:

    Code:
    # xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    #   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
       Identifier   "Generic Keyboard"
       Driver      "kbd"
       Option      "CoreKeyboard"
       Option      "XkbRules"   "xorg"
       Option      "XkbModel"   "pc105"
       Option      "XkbLayout"   "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
       Identifier   "Configured Mouse"
       Driver      "mouse"
       Option      "CorePointer"
       Option      "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
       Option      "Protocol"      "ImPS/2"
       Option      "ZAxisMapping"      "4 5"
       Option      "Emulate3Buttons"   "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
       Driver      "wacom"
       Identifier   "stylus"
       Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
       Option      "Type"      "stylus"
       Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
       Driver      "wacom"
       Identifier   "eraser"
       Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
       Option      "Type"      "eraser"
       Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
       Driver      "wacom"
       Identifier   "cursor"
       Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
       Option      "Type"      "cursor"
       Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
       Identifier   "Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 86C326 5598/6326"
       Driver      "sis"
       BusID      "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
       Identifier   "StudioWorks"
       Option      "DPMS"
       HorizSync   30-54
       VertRefresh   50-120
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
       Identifier   "Default Screen"
       Device      "Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 86C326 5598/6326"
       Monitor      "StudioWorks"
       DefaultDepth   24
       SubSection "Display"
          Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x450" "720x400" "640x480"
       EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
       Identifier   "Default Layout"
       Screen      "Default Screen"
       InputDevice   "Generic Keyboard"
       InputDevice   "Configured Mouse"
    
    # Uncomment if you have a wacom tablet
    #   InputDevice     "stylus"   "SendCoreEvents"
    #   InputDevice     "cursor"   "SendCoreEvents"
    #   InputDevice     "eraser"   "SendCoreEvents"
    EndSection
    How can I change the refresh???
    Many thanks to all!!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    You can probably scrap most of that config, unless you happen to have a wacom tablet and other inputs. The refresh is probably poor because the config file uses rates that aren't the same of your monitor.

    I notice the M2AABJ is a widescreen? I just wanted to confirm that, since you said you were using 1024x768.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    183

    Re: I can't increase screen resolution

    Hello Grenage!! I don't know the meaning of "wacom". I have Yuraku widescreen, this is the link, http://www.yuraku.com.sg/proddetails...id=97&catid=28.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •