Page 10 of 22 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 215

Thread: Interpid Sound Solutions

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    4,377
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    I have an ALC888 on my machine and it works just fine for me on Intrepid and Hardy, I didn't have to do anything. I also have an ati hdmi device on my gpu like you do.

    That message means that pulseaudio has crashed which is weird becase the pavucontrol should have given you an unable to connect error when you opened it.
    Did you reboot after folowing the guide?
    That is sometimes necessary but not always which is also sort of weird.

    What is your machine?

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    288
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    Quote Originally Posted by markbuntu View Post
    I have an ALC888 on my machine and it works just fine for me on Intrepid and Hardy, I didn't have to do anything. I also have an ati hdmi device on my gpu like you do.

    That message means that pulseaudio has crashed which is weird becase the pavucontrol should have given you an unable to connect error when you opened it.
    Did you reboot after folowing the guide?
    That is sometimes necessary but not always which is also sort of weird.

    What is your machine?
    I am so glad to hear that someone has this chip working in Ubuntu! Whew!

    Ok, My computer is a Dell Studio SMT-116B like this one http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1218008593628

    Would you mind telling me how you have all of your sound preferences configured?

    Thank you!
    New To Linux? So am I.
    http://linux4noobs.blogspot.com/

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Park Hills, MO, USA
    Beans
    42
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    Thank You for Your Time! This was the soulution to my problem as well!

    -Aaron

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    288
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    Quote Originally Posted by markbuntu View Post
    I have an ALC888 on my machine and it works just fine for me on Intrepid and Hardy, I didn't have to do anything. I also have an ati hdmi device on my gpu like you do.

    That message means that pulseaudio has crashed which is weird becase the pavucontrol should have given you an unable to connect error when you opened it.
    Did you reboot after folowing the guide?
    That is sometimes necessary but not always which is also sort of weird.

    What is your machine?
    Oh, and yes I did reboot. Several times but it did not help.

    Thank you.
    New To Linux? So am I.
    http://linux4noobs.blogspot.com/

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    288
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    Bumping - out of desperation.
    New To Linux? So am I.
    http://linux4noobs.blogspot.com/

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    288
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    Quote Originally Posted by markbuntu View Post
    I have an ALC888 on my machine and it works just fine for me on Intrepid and Hardy, I didn't have to do anything. I also have an ati hdmi device on my gpu like you do.

    That message means that pulseaudio has crashed which is weird becase the pavucontrol should have given you an unable to connect error when you opened it.
    Did you reboot after folowing the guide?
    That is sometimes necessary but not always which is also sort of weird.

    What is your machine?
    I've discovered an oddity. Typing "dmseg" after bootup displays a long list of "events" that happen during bootup. I found this message regarding my soundcard:
    Code:
    [   13.049258] HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [   13.083143] hda_codec: Unknown model for ALC883, trying auto-probe from BIOS.
    Why does list it an ALC883 when I have an ALC888? Maybe this is part of my problem?
    New To Linux? So am I.
    http://linux4noobs.blogspot.com/

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    4,377
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    There are some threads around here about the dell studio. You should do a search for them. Dell does a lot of tweaking to the hardware so most likely you need to add some option in your etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base file to get it working.

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    288
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    Quote Originally Posted by markbuntu View Post
    There are some threads around here about the dell studio. You should do a search for them. Dell does a lot of tweaking to the hardware so most likely you need to add some option in your etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base file to get it working.



    Yes!!! I searched for "Dell Studio" (duh) and found this thread:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=969611

    I install the suggested code and rebooted. I heard a "Pop" in my speakers but still no sound so I knew I was getting somewhere. I then followed your suggestions at the beginning of this thread (tweaking Pulse Audio). I got all the way down to the part where you suggested to open the pulse audio volume manager and verify the audio stream is playing through the correct device. I switched the steams and BAM!!!! Music is now playing through my speakers as I type this!

    Woot! Woot!

    Thank you for the effort and time you put into making your knowledge available to all!
    New To Linux? So am I.
    http://linux4noobs.blogspot.com/

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    218

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    Quote Originally Posted by davidself1001 View Post
    Got audio in FF finally. I had to set the PA sound prefs default mixer tracks to Cirrus Logic (OSS mixer) instead of my SB Live (Alsa mixer). Not sure why that is?
    I just thought I had this resolved. today without changing anything I am back to having no audio in FF but have it everywhere else. This is getting old. I have tried changing settings in pref sounds, in the PA volume control and the Cirrius Volume panel. Any other suggestions?
    Ubuntu 11.04 x64, GNOME 2.32.1, Kernel 2.6.38-8
    MB Asus P5Q-E, Onboard ADI AD2000B audio, 4G ram
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX,Core2 Quad Q9400

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    288
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Interpid Sound Solutions

    Quote Originally Posted by davidself1001 View Post
    I just thought I had this resolved. today without changing anything I am back to having no audio in FF but have it everywhere else. This is getting old. I have tried changing settings in pref sounds, in the PA volume control and the Cirrius Volume panel. Any other suggestions?
    Well, I still have no sound in Firefox but I'm picking my battles one at a time. I have sound streaming from last.fm and can play music from CD's whereas I could not before. I call that a victory but not the end of the battle.

    I will attack Firefox next.
    New To Linux? So am I.
    http://linux4noobs.blogspot.com/

Page 10 of 22 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •