Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    Hi guys,

    I am having some problems connecting my Freecom NAS to my netbook (running hardy) with both SMB and NFS. I am also having issues with 8.10 on my main pc but that seems to be covered in several other topics so I will concentrate on my hardy issues.

    I can connect to the NAS via the GUI or via entering the following into Nautilus SMB://192.168.1.108/public/ or smb://FND/PUBLIC. The folders show up correctly and i can access all of the files.

    I have followed several guides here and entered the following into my /etc/fstab file:

    //192.168.1.108/PUBLIC /media/nas cifs user=myusername,uid=1000,gid=100 0 0

    I have also tried:
    //FND/PUBLIC /media/nas cifs credentials=/root/.smbcredentials,iocharset=utf8,file_mode=0777,dir_ mode=0777 0 0

    with the credentials file containing my username and password.

    The problem i have is that the above seems correct for SMB but when i type the following into the terminal i get the following error;

    Sudo mount /media/nas

    I am prompted for my password if i dont use the credentials file (correctly) and then i get

    mount error 20 = Not a directory
    Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page.

    I have even tried to create an aditional directory in the /media folder and still cannot mount to it.

    I then decided to try NFS and entered the following into my fstab;

    192.168.1.108UBLIC /media/fnd nfs rw,hard,intr 0 0

    and still no joy.

    Can someone please give me a hand getting this to work, as I cannot find anymore solutions in the guides around and I am getting really bored of using FTP to connect to my NAS.

    Thanks;

    andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    I should prob say that I get the same mount error 20 = not a directory refer to the mount.cifs ( 8 ) manual page (e.gman mount.cifs)

    when i try a manual mount useing;
    sudo mount -t cifs //netbiosname/sharename /media/sharename -o username=winusername,password=winpassword,iocharse t=utf8,file_mode=0777,dir_mode=0777

    Thinking out loud, would it be worth trying to connect with smbfs? The nas isnt that old (about 12-18months) and has its firmware up to date, but this is a daft fault
    Last edited by geekyhawkes; November 29th, 2008 at 08:27 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ~/PA/USA
    Beans
    1,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    Have you tried using the DNS hostname, rather than the IP address?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    yes, it works fine from within nautilus but neither DNS name (FND in my case) or the IP address mount the drive from fstab. Same if i try manually from the terminal, i just always end up with the mount error 20.

    Just having a look in synaptic package manager, ive noticed that i have samba-common installed but not the samba 3.0.28a-1ubuntu4.7 module listed above. That the issue? I just dont understand how nautilus can mount and explore but fstab and manual dont work.
    Last edited by geekyhawkes; November 29th, 2008 at 08:36 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ~/PA/USA
    Beans
    1,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    Try removing the slashes from the fstab and see if that gets you in.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    I have just removed the leading // from this line in fstab and inserted the netbios name;
    FND/PUBLIC /media/nas cifs user=myusername,uid=1000,gid=100 0 0

    When i type sudo mount /media/nas i get the following
    mount error: improperly formatted UNC name. FND/Public does not begin with // or \\ No ip address specified and hostname not found.

    Thanks for your help so far, im hoping we can crack it

    EDIT: Ive just noticed some strange behaviour. If i use my Nautilus bookmark to try and access the nas i get Generic error. If i type smb://fnd/public each time in nautilus it works fine. More confused than ever!
    Last edited by geekyhawkes; November 29th, 2008 at 08:48 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    Anyone got any other ways forward for me please?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by geekyhawkes View Post
    I have just removed the leading // from this line in fstab and inserted the netbios name;
    FND/PUBLIC /media/nas cifs user=myusername,uid=1000,gid=100 0 0

    When i type sudo mount /media/nas i get the following
    mount error: improperly formatted UNC name. FND/Public does not begin with // or \\ No ip address specified and hostname not found.

    Thanks for your help so far, im hoping we can crack it

    EDIT: Ive just noticed some strange behaviour. If i use my Nautilus bookmark to try and access the nas i get Generic error. If i type smb://fnd/public each time in nautilus it works fine. More confused than ever!

    Try FND:/PUBLIC /media/nas nfs 0 0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    Tried as described above but terminal returned the following error;

    mount.nfs an incorrec mount option was specified.

    Who would have thought this would be so difficult?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: smb/nfs in fstab what am i doing wrong?

    Any one else able to help? Im going out of my mind trying to get this drive to mount on startup!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •