Thread: Replacing OpenJDK with Sun Java

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Replacing OpenJDK with Sun Java

Ok, so I have this application, jDip, which is extremely glitchy and rather useless under OpenJDK. The thing randomly freezes up, and on top of that I get a 'Fatal Error' every time I try to save. So I tried installing Sun's Java, via apt-get, but 'java' still points to the OpenJDK version, and I can't find the Sun-Java command for the life of me. Posted in Absolute Beginner Talk, because it's not even really a bug, just me being stupid. I already wasted a couple hours on a solution to this, so I promise I'm only wasting your time as a last resort.

Thanks in advance for any help,
    -Calder Coalson

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: Replacing OpenJDK with Sun Java

lol, I knew this would happen. The second I post, I find the answer. Anyway, for anyone encountering the same trouble, all you need to run is the following command:
    Code:
    sudo update-java-alternatives --set java-6-sun
    Thanks to Hibble for his helpful post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...54&postcount=6

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

I would rather remove open-java! you don't need it once you install sun-java!
    Intel Atom Dual Core D525 @ 1.80GHz, 1,0GB RAM, Intel Graphics Media Accelator 3150
    Linux User # 478860 Ubuntu User # 24004

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Quote Originally Posted by CalderCoalson View Post
    lol, I knew this would happen. The second I post, I find the answer. Anyway, for anyone encountering the same trouble, all you need to run is the following command:
    Code:
    sudo update-java-alternatives --set java-6-sun
    Thanks to Hibble for his helpful post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...54&postcount=6
    This piece of code has been very useful. So much trouble for changing to Sun's java version without updating with the command.