Thread: Help with Radio Streaming Server

Beans

Question Help with Radio Streaming Server

Alright guys, uber-noob here. I picked up Linux in August and want to make the switch from Fedora to Ubuntu. I hear the Ubuntu server is legit.

The reason I'm here is I have an idea for a live-streaming audio server but I don't know if it will work.

I own a sports website and I'm going to be broadcasting some (high school and small college) basketball games soon. What I'd like it the ability to put my laptop down, anywhere in the world, and stream live audio from it.

Basically pull the audio signal from my board and plug it into the laptop and stream it live.

Is that possible? And how would I do that? I have the Ubuntu sever edition, but I haven't installed it yet because I'm not sure how to proceed.

Any help would be awesome and very much appreciated.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Help with Radio Streaming Server

Quote Originally Posted by nqlblq View Post
    Alright guys, uber-noob here. I picked up Linux in August and want to make the switch from Fedora to Ubuntu. I hear the Ubuntu server is legit.

The reason I'm here is I have an idea for a live-streaming audio server but I don't know if it will work.

I own a sports website and I'm going to be broadcasting some (high school and small college) basketball games soon. What I'd like it the ability to put my laptop down, anywhere in the world, and stream live audio from it.

Basically pull the audio signal from my board and plug it into the laptop and stream it live.

Is that possible? And how would I do that? I have the Ubuntu sever edition, but I haven't installed it yet because I'm not sure how to proceed.

Any help would be awesome and very much appreciated.