Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Adairsville, GA
    Beans
    166
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    I'm writing this tutorial so that people can benefit from my experiences with setting up WF 3.0 on a HP xw4600 running Ubuntu 8.10. I work as a mechanical design engineer and CAD administrator, and I have been working on getting WF 3.0 running smoothly on Ubuntu for a few days now. After alot of Googling for answers and figuring out things on my own, I have finally come up with a solution that should work for everyone.

    Getting Started

    Before you can install Pro/E from CD or from the packages downloaded from PTC, you need to prep a few things on your system. First of all, you need to make sure that your graphics card is setup properly and that OpenGL is working. This is beyond the scope of this tutorial, so please check out the following links for more info:

    Using Nvidia Binary Drivers
    Using ATI Binary Drivers

    After you have OpenGL up and running, you need to install a few package so that you can run the Pro/E setup program. On my system I needed to install csh, libmotif3, libstdc++5, and portmap:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install csh libmotif3 libstdc++5 portmap
    Now you should be able to run the installer without any problems.

    Running the Setup

    You have two options for installing Pro/E: CD or online installer. it doesn't matter which one you use, just find the setup script and run it:

    Code:
    cd /path/to/proe
    ./setup
    After this, the Pro/E setup program should launch and will run you through the installation steps. Just remember that you will need the license server information for your company, so have it handy when the program asks for it. If you are unsure of your license server or the license server triad, you can look at the launch scripts on another workstation to determine this information. Just open one of the following files in a text editor and search for "@7788".

    On Windows:
    C:\path\to\ProE\bin\proe.psf

    On Unix/Linux:

    /path/to/ProE/bin/proe1

    Keep in mind that alot of companies use custom Pro/E lanuch scripts that may be under a different name such as proewf3_b300 (for release 3.0 build 300). In this case you would need to look for the following files:

    On Windows:

    C:\path\to\ProE\bin\proewf3_b300.psf

    On Unix/Linux:

    /path/to/ProE/bin/proewf3_b300


    Library Fix
    Now you should have Pro/E installed, but if you attempt to run it you will get a bunch of "Locking assertion failed" error messages on the command line. This is the one thing that was keeping me from getting WF 3.0 working until I found this bug report:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/libxcb/+bug/185311

    If you dig down through that bug, there is a post describing how to install a special version of libx11 that will prevent the Locking assertion errors and will allow Pro/E to run without any issues. The best part is that they wrote a script to automate the whole process and install the libraries outside of the package manager so that it does not affect Compiz or other applications.

    You can download the script here:
    http://launchpadlibrarian.net/16474477/install_libx11-noxcb_in_opt.sh

    After you download the script, simply run it as follows (there is no need to run with sudo because it will do this for you):
    Code:
    sh install_libx11-noxcb_in_opt.sh
    Once the script has completed, you will have a new copy of libx11 installed in /opt/LIBx11-noxcb that can be used to launch Pro/E, Matlab, Mathematica, and several other applications that give the "Locking assertion failed" error message.

    Now on to the custom launch script

    Custom Launch Script

    Below is the custom launch script that I wrote to launch Pro/E on my workstation. The script will test to see if your working directory exits...if it doesn't it will create it for you. After this it will run a subroutine that will change to your working directory, set the LANG environment variable to "C", and disable compiz before launching Pro/E with the special libx11 libraries. When Pro/E is closed, the script will relaunch Compiz automatically.

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    WORKING_DIR=$HOME/working
    PROE_PATH=/usr/local/ptc/proeWildfire3.0/bin
    PROE_PID='/sbin/pidof proe1' # This will depend on your custom Pro/E launchers
    
    function launch_proe {
            cd $WORKING_DIR
            export LANG=C
            #Uncomment the line below if you are using Compiz
            metacity --replace &
            LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/LIBx11-noxcb/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH $PROE_PATH/proe &
            while [ -n "$PROE_PID" ]; do
                    sleep 3
            done
    
            if [ -z "$PROE_PID" ]; then
                    #Uncomment the line below if you are using Compiz
                    compiz --replace &
            fi
    }
    
    if [ -d $WORKING_DIR ]; then
            launch_proe
    else
            mkdir $WORKING_DIR
            launch_proe
    fi
    To use my script, simply copy the text into a file and call it whatever you want (I called my proe_starter), then make the script executable and launch it:

    Code:
    chmod +x proe_starter
    ./proe_starter
    Once you are sure that the proe_starter script is function properly, you can copy it to local bin directory so that it will be in your path:

    Code:
    sudo chown root:root proe_starter
    sudo cp proe_starter /usr/local/bin/
    Create a Desktop Icon

    You can create a desktop icon by right clicking on the desktop and selecting "Create Launcher". Just enter "proe_starter" in the Command field and give it a name and description. If you want to use the default Pro/E icons, they are located in "/path/to/proe/install/nt".

    That pretty much wraps up this tutorial. If you have questions feel free to ask them.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    494

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    Thanks!! Especially for the script, well done!

    I also want to add that visual effects ie compiz must be disabled for pro engineer and THE setup to work. I was pulling my hair out wondering why I couldnt run setup!!
    Last edited by keplerspeed; May 23rd, 2009 at 12:54 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    Thanks very much for this guide. I use Fedora (7,8,9,10) and I also would see the locking assertion failed error. I have another issue with PROE/Wildfire3 that I was hoping you might have some insight on. The problem is with the "Mechanism" module in Proe. It will not run on Fedora, although it does run on RHEL4, so there is probably some other library issue. The exact error is: 'startup of application "MECHANIMS" failed'. I can replicate this by opening a new assembly, then selecting Mechanism from the applications. I'm not running compiz.

    Oh, and after I quit from Proe, the proe_starter script doesn't exit. Is there a way to make it do so?

    thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Adairsville, GA
    Beans
    166
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    I'm not sure about your Mechanisms issue, but it almost sounds like it is either 1) Not installed properly or 2) Not able to pull a license. You may want to check your startup script (i.e. /path/to/ProE/bin/proe1) and make sure you have the correct license feature selected (look for PROE_FEATURE_NAME=YOUR_PROE_FEATURE).

    I will have to take a look at the script again. I noticed it was hanging up on my system the other day. I think it may have something to do with the subroutine that watches for the Pro/E process ID to disappear.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    16

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    hi
    I have problem to execute proe1.So i just complete run pro/eng when i connect to the internet and then if i don't connect internet,i can not run pro/eng v3.

    i'v checked file ptchostid in ptc/bin/ and each time i start it , i get new hostid.
    And it's just stop renew my hostid when i connect to internet.

    So what problem and how to solve ???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    13

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    This thread has made a huge difference and I now have Pro E installed on 8.04.
    However when I try and run Pro E it produces a message saying...
    "Your chosen language en_US.UTF-8 is based on unicode, which this version of Pro/Engineer does not use. Pro/Engineer will shut down; please restart with a language that does not contain the string ".utf" or ".UTF"
    I've tried British and Australian english, which does change the error message, but to know avail. Can anyone advise me how to solve this?
    Best
    Robin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    16

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    you can try this.it's complety succeed.i've tried it step-by-step.

    http://humdi.net/tips/how-to-disable-utf-8-in-console

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    13

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    That looks great, newbie question though... How do you "open as root"? so as to be able to edit the necessary files.
    I guess this'll be why the computer said I didn't have permission to stick ProE in it's default folder?
    Best
    R

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    since linux support is droped by PTC (don't know why) what options do we have?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    2

    Re: HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

    Im also a mechanical design engineer and CAD operator. My question: will this also work installing Autodesk Inventor and AutoCAD? Im not sure what to do. I've only been using Linux for two years now, still contemplating the idea of changing to Ubuntu. Currently using PClinuxOS dual boot with Windows XP

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •