Thread: Auto login help

Beans

Auto login help

I'm trying to get a console based server to auto login with a specified user name. I found a couple of tutorials, but I can't seem to get them to work.

I found this one http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=31310 and one with the exact some instructions, but I can't get them to work. When I get to the
    sudo gcc -o autologin autologin.c
    it gives me the following errors:
    autologin.c: In function ‘main’:
    autologin.c:2: warning: incompatible implicit declaration of built-in function ‘execlp’
    autologin.c:2: warning: missing sentinel in function call

I'm no coder, so I'm not sure what exactly I'm looking at, or what might be causing the error. I have gcc-4.3 installed on 32bit 8.10 Ubuntu Server Edition computer.

Edited to fix spelling error.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Re: Auto login help

Perhaps if you explain WHY you need a server system to auto-logon a user at a console, we can tell you how to avoid that.
    Auto-logon on a server system is the epitome of insecurity.

Beans

On a server you shouldn't need to have anything run when a user logs in. Things like Apache, mysql, etc start with the computer.

If you need to run something as a specific user I'd suggest setting up some type of cronjob.
    Ubuntu 14.04 Server
    -Linode 1GB
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Laptop
    -Toshiba Satellite A505-6005, Intel i3, 4.00 GB ram

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by adaptr View Post
    Perhaps if you explain WHY you need a server system to auto-logon a user at a console, we can tell you how to avoid that.
    Auto-logon on a server system is the epitome of insecurity.
    I'm not worried about security of the system, not only is it not a critical server (never would think of this if it was), but it is hooked up to a LAN with no WAN access, with 5 people who don't know how to do anything without a GUI, and me.