Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Evolution, Thunderbird, Sync, Google Calendar, and so on

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Unhappy Evolution, Thunderbird, Sync, Google Calendar, and so on

I am not sure of the best location for this, rant, tips n tricks, developer coding, so general will do.

I am a business user, I have been using Ubuntu for 2 years now. I am in a complete corporate environment, and I struggle like mad, but I am very persistent and will do what ever I can to succeed. My two areas where most problems exist are:

• Mail/Calendar/Contacts, and keeping them in sync with a mobile device.
    • Office documents.

Clearly #1 is the trouble area. #2, seems to be taken care of with the recent addition of OO v3, available by adding the following to your rep:
    Code:
    deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/openoffice-pkgs/ubuntu intrepid main
    About 80% of the docs that I have opened in the new v3 seem to be good, although I am still seeing problems with headers/footers and so on. The issue is that colleagues email M$ Office 2007 docs around, without even thinking, and no one can go back to them and ask them to save the doc in a different format, and then send it onto you again. Anyhow, onto the main issue:

Before I get into the problems, we need to state what we wish to happen!

Corporate users need a Mail, Contacts, Calendar application, that can be trusted (does not loose data...), which contains all possible fields (birthdays, spouse name, weight, you name it), that can be synchronized with a server (SyncML, Google Calendar,...?) and will handle updates, multi-language, different characters, code-pages, deletes, additions, modifications -- all the time, being trust-worthy!
    I know what all of you are saying as you are reading this... Evolution and Schedulworld, maybe even Thunderbird and Funambol. Well, nothing works!

Let me give you my most recent experience: