Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 95

Thread: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Credit for this all goes to Sand Lee, who put in all the effort and troubleshooting. That guide on XP is located here. Much of this is copying what was done and just adding to it because of a lack of time on Sand Lee's part.

    I have recently Upgraded to the Windows 7 beta (build 7000) and to Jaunty 9.04. Using the same settings as before, this VM still works for me, I hope it does for you also.

    Introduction
    I re-made this tutorial based on Sand Lee's for XP, and used him additions to change it to Vista, so all credit goes to him, I am just posting this to make it easier to find for people. I agree with him when he says VMware felt off, I could not get it to work personally, plus VirtualBox is Open Source. Using a VM makes it much easier to boot into Vista if you need something quickly and do not want to exit your current session. I did this with Intrepid Ibex, Ubuntu 8.10.
    Please read or skim the tutorial before attempting it. Note: This tutorial was tested to work with VBoxOSE 2.04 and may not work for users w/ SATA drives.



    Step 1: Create a grub boot cd
    Creating a grub cd will let you boot straight into your target Windows partition.
    Following method adapted from grub manual.

    Code:
     mkdir -p iso/boot/grub ; cp /usr/lib/grub/*-pc/stage2_eltorito /boot/grub/menu.lst iso/boot/grub
    This creates a copy of your current GRUB, so from here you configure ~/iso/boot/grub/menu.lst to boot your target partition (~ is your home).
    • Change the default option to your vista partition.
    • Set the timeout at 1.
    • If your vista partion says savedefault in the grub.lst be sure to delete that line.
    • Then run the following to create the grub.iso file.

    Code:
    mkisofs -R -b boot/grub/stage2_eltorito -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table -o grub.iso iso
    Step 2: Create a virtual disk (.vmdk)
    When creating such a disk, it's preferable to only specify your Windows partition. This is a safety precaution that will prevent a data corruption problem that results from booting into the currently running OS. As a preliminary step, you must add yourself to the disk and vboxusers groups,
    Code:
    sudo usermod -G disk,vboxusers -a `whoami`
    Log out and log back in here... and edit the following command to point to your WinVista partition: (I specified my WinVista partition - /dev/sda2 - with "-partitions 2")
    Code:
    VBoxManage internalcommands createrawvmdk -filename ~/.VirtualBox/WinHD.vmdk -rawdisk /dev/sda -partitions 2 -relative -register
    Step 3: Boot into Vista and disable hardware-specific and unnecessary start-up items in msconfig
    • Click Start > In Search Box type msconfig
    • Hit Enter key
    • Remove anything not necessary, some trial and error may be required if you are not sure what you need


    Step 4: Boot back into Ubuntu and create a VM with the settings below. If they don't work try switching settings.
    • Create a machine that uses the created .vmdk (in the drop-down menu of the HD selection section)
    • You may have to switch between the two IDE controllers types (Settings/Advanced) to see which works for you
    • Use the same MAC as your real network card for your virtual card if you experience network problems



    Step 5: Boot Vista in VirtualBox
    • Realize that you may have to reactivate your copy of Vista


    *** Do Step 6 at your own risk, some have had problems with it ***
    Step 6: Mount the Guest additions CD to install the VBox Drivers
    • You will have to mount your HDD for this so be careful and make sure to select your Vista partition.
    • Image can be found here.
    • Do not install it directly into Vbox, only use it in Vista for finding the driver.
    • Reboot Vista and install the Guest additions inside Vista for a better experience.


    Step 7: Mount network drivers CD to install drivers
    • Again be careful and select your Vista partition because you HDD is mounted.
    • Download files and create ISO using the code below thanks to Jhcore.com
      Code:
      cd ~/install_files
      wget http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/utilities/V4.51.zip
      unzip V4.51.zip -d driver
      mkisofs -o driver.iso -R -J driver
    • Mount driver.iso in VirtualBox
    • go to: Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Device Manager. Right click on Ethernet Controller > Update Driver Software > Browser my computer…
    • Navigate to the CDROM drive, and click ok.


    ::: ::: Troubleshooting ::: :::

    More Troubleshooting:
    Migrate_Windows - Virtualbox

    Sources & Helpful Links:
    Sand Lee's Original Post
    vboxforums-version,squidoo-virt, mazimi-virt, mazimi-bypass, mesbalivernes-virt, Network Drivers tutorial


    Comments and suggestions welcome!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by canabal; April 6th, 2009 at 05:54 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Updates

    Sand Lee made an edit using a grub boot CD so I edited mine to follow and ensure the same experience.
    Last edited by canabal; November 23rd, 2008 at 09:50 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Thanks for this tutorial canabal. I going to try this out in the next few days.
    After these steps will Vista boot natively in a dual-boot mode as well?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Yes it boots fine, what I recommend is you turn the timer off in GRUB and then put default position to 3. For me, this means it will boot nothing, as it is on the text label about "Other operating systems". This will save any errors of booting up into Ubuntu inside the VM and destroying your install.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    100

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Works good, but is there a way to get the graphics work properly so I can play games?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Quote Originally Posted by JeyPeyy View Post
    Works good, but is there a way to get the graphics work properly so I can play games?
    Virtualized graphics is a problem that hasn't yet been figured out with VirtualBox.
    Last edited by Sand Lee; November 23rd, 2008 at 02:40 AM.
    Focus on how it can be rather than how it could've been.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Updated to add GRUB boot CD.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    333

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Can somebody please confirm that once I set this up I won't have to continually re-activate Vista each time I boot it either natively or virtually? I intend to be able to boot it alternately virtually and natively continuously forever. Does that make sense? Does it somehow retain the previous hardware profile or how does that work since I keep reading Vista doesn't allow for multiple hardware profiles...?
    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Quote Originally Posted by anystupidname View Post
    Can somebody please confirm that once I set this up I won't have to continually re-activate Vista each time I boot it either natively or virtually? I intend to be able to boot it alternately virtually and natively continuously forever. Does that make sense? Does it somehow retain the previous hardware profile or how does that work since I keep reading Vista doesn't allow for multiple hardware profiles...?
    Thanks!
    No dice. You'll have to reactivate it everytime you switch back and forth. I'm actually about to work on a solution to this problem and I'll probably figure out if it's plausible by this weekend.
    Focus on how it can be rather than how it could've been.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    333

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Thanks for the response. I look forward to your findings.

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •