Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 95

Thread: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    64
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    it's because grub doesn't use menu.lst anymore. any solutions?
    1: make me a sandwich
    2: no, make one yourself
    1: sudo make me a sandwich
    2: [sudo] password for human:

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Does exists another way to create a grub boot iso, with the possibility to change grub menu items (to force loading only windows partition) ?

    EDIT: another possible way is to install mrb packet. Using command install-mbr, it's possible create an "ad-hoc" .mbr file which will included into virtual image disk creation, using the option -mbr.
    Code:
    install-mbr realVista.mbr -f -p 4
    
    VBoxManage internalcommands createrawvmdk -filename ~/.VirtualBox/RealVista64HD.vmdk -rawdisk /dev/sda -partitions 4 -mbr realVista.mbr -relative -register
    In this example the mbr file named realVista.mbr, created forcing partition to boot 4 partition, is included into RealVista64HD.vmdk with option -mbr realVista.mbr
    Last edited by C4Rd0; January 8th, 2010 at 12:35 PM.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Shelbyville, IN, USA
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Quote Originally Posted by sanesto View Post
    what can i do if i use ubuntu 9.10.
    It's not the same for the first part (the grub one), cz ubuntu 9.10 use the grub2, so when i typed:
    mkdir -p iso/boot/grub ; cp /usr/lib/grub/*-pc/stage2_eltorito /boot/grub/menu.lst iso/boot/grub
    i got this message:
    cp: cannot stat `/usr/lib/grub/*-pc/stage2_eltorito': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `/boot/grub/menu.lst': No such file or directory

    so do you have any idea plz to solve my problem.

    Thx in advance!
    I've ran into the same problem. Any solutions?

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    8

    Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    i'm having problems with the very first line... this is exactly what i entered into the terminal, and what i got back in response...

    thefox@ubuntu:~$ mkdir -p iso/boot/grub ; cp /usr/lib/grub/*-pc/stage2_eltorito /boot/grub/menu.lst iso/boot/grub
    cp: cannot stat `/usr/lib/grub/*-pc/stage2_eltorito': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `/boot/grub/menu.lst': No such file or directory
    thefox@ubuntu:~$

    any idea on what i am supposed to do? i'm using karmic (9.10) but the begining of the thread says its for 9.04, though throughout my use of karmic i have yet to have any problems doing things that were done on 9.04... i dont feel like formatting my win7 partition just so i can reinstall it with a virtual machine... mainly because it has my games on it and MW2 doesn't have any way for you to backup the game files.. i'm not saying i want the virtualbox to be able to play games, just want to be able to use it when i need it without having to reboot every time, if i want to play a game then i'l just reboot, since it isn't like you can do anything except that game while its running anyway lol.

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    21

    Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    I'm interested in knowing this as well.

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tennessee, United States
    Beans
    321
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Quote Originally Posted by master620 View Post
    i'm having problems with the very first line... this is exactly what i entered into the terminal, and what i got back in response...

    thefox@ubuntu:~$ mkdir -p iso/boot/grub ; cp /usr/lib/grub/*-pc/stage2_eltorito /boot/grub/menu.lst iso/boot/grub
    cp: cannot stat `/usr/lib/grub/*-pc/stage2_eltorito': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `/boot/grub/menu.lst': No such file or directory
    thefox@ubuntu:~$

    any idea on what i am supposed to do? i'm using karmic (9.10) but the begining of the thread says its for 9.04, though throughout my use of karmic i have yet to have any problems doing things that were done on 9.04... i dont feel like formatting my win7 partition just so i can reinstall it with a virtual machine... mainly because it has my games on it and MW2 doesn't have any way for you to backup the game files.. i'm not saying i want the virtualbox to be able to play games, just want to be able to use it when i need it without having to reboot every time, if i want to play a game then i'l just reboot, since it isn't like you can do anything except that game while its running anyway lol.
    Karmic uses Grub2 Not Grub1. Thats why thats not working.

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Boot an existing Vista (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    sorry for thread necromance, but i followed the directions, and when vista goes to boot it gives me the "windows did not shut down properly".

    If i try to start normally, it hangs at a black screen, if i boot safe mode, it hangs at crcdisk.sys.


    any suggestions?

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    1

    Thumbs down Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    Rise!

    This post concerns the "fatal error in recompiler cpu: triple fault" error some have posted about in this thread. I'm experiencing the same error along with a Guru Meditation when I try to boot my native Win 7 Ultimate partition in VirtualBox when VT-x/AMD-V are enabled. If I disabled hardware virtuatlization, the VM boots fine. My processor supports this feature and works perfectly fine with non-native OSes I use on this computer. Has anyone been able to resolve this issue?

    Regards.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Cool Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    My /usr/lib/grub folder doesn't have a stage2-eltorito file. Help?
    Hello everyone... Today I would like to talk to you about the mau5... The mau5 has two ears... One on the left, and one on the right... I do not know much more about the mau5. But I do know... that the mau5 sounds like THIS

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot an existing Vista/Windows 7 (Physical HD) install with VirtualBox

    This how-to does not work with grub2. grub2 doesnt have a stage2-eltorito file.

    It is possible to revert from grub(1.97~beta4) to grub(0.97) to be compatible with this post, but this seems counter productive.

    To learn about Grub2 and also how to revert to legacy grub go here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275
    Section 12 discusses reverting

    For everyone else who does not want to revert (such as myself) we need a real solution rather than a workaround. I've been working with making an iso file of Grub2 and editing /boot/grub/grub.cfg but I haven't got a working configuration yet.

    I keep getting errors such as "no kernel" and "cannot get C/H/S values" after trying to boot from a Grub2 entry.

    I'm not exactly sure how the drive device naming works inside the virtual machine.

    Any advice?

    "Knowing that you know nothing is true wisdom"
    "The only thing perfect is imperfection itself"
    "Axioms are often eclipsed"
    ~Kory...

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •