Thread: [SOLVED] Need Help with HP Tx2000 and Hardy !

Beans

Exclamation [SOLVED] Need Help with HP Tx2000 and Hardy !

UPDATE: After an update, the wacom stopped working and so did my nvidia graphics again. This time, that xorg.txt I downloaded doesn't do anything to help either. I'm confused...I don't want to have to keep using Vista...

I know there are several posts on this particular computer, but I haven't found anything that actually addresses the problem I'm having right now.

I am very new to ubuntu and thanks to all the helpful tutorials, I recently had everything except my tablet working on my machine. However, when I was trying a tutorial to make wacom work I must have made a bad mistake and now my nvidia drivers won't work. I have all the necessary downloads, I think, but when I try to enable the drivers, after I reboot, my computer starts in low graphics mode and it stays that way until I disable nvidia. Can anyone help me? What do I need to do?
    Last edited by Azyala; December 5th, 2008 at 08:14 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: Need Help with HP Tx2000 and Hardy !

Okay.. first of all, are you sure you have the tx2000? (check the model number on the bottom...) if you do, you can go to this post:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...47&postcount=5
    and download the xorg.conf at the bottom.
    Then open up your own xorg.conf (at /etxc/X11/xorg.conf) and replace all the text with the one you downloaded. Save it then restart and everything should work. Only do this if you are for sure you have a tx2000 series!
    If you have a tx2500 series, it will only make matters worse. Most importantly, before doing any of this, backup your xorg.conf!
    Kory

Beans

Thank you. Yes I'm sure I have the tx2000. A few hours ago I was able to get my nvidia graphics working again after some fiddling, but I might still use that xorg.conf at the bottom if it will also get the wacom working.