Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Why two Gnome panels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Winchester, UK
    Beans
    264
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Why two Gnome panels

    Probably a stupid question, sorry.
    Why does Gnome have two panels?
    I have the two panels at the bottom on my screen
    I wondered if it would be possible to merge the contents of the panel that contains Applications, Places, System and my launch icons with the panel that contains the show-desktop, date, help, shutdown and username.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ayrshire.
    Beans
    46,791
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Why two Gnome panels

    Right click one of the panels and select "Add to Panel", add as appropriate, then delete the redundant panel.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Beans
    3,779

    Re: Why two Gnome panels

    Quote Originally Posted by welshmike View Post
    Probably a stupid question, sorry.
    Why does Gnome have two panels?
    I have the two panels at the bottom on my screen
    I wondered if it would be possible to merge the contents of the panel that contains Applications, Places, System and my launch icons with the panel that contains the show-desktop, date, help, shutdown and username.
    No, its not a stupid question, but I've got a stupid answer- I have no idea why gnome has 2 panels. It doesnt make sense tio me, but heh, I'm not a gnome user.

    Yes, it is quite possible (and fairly easy IIRC) to have the contents of the 2 panels merged into 1 panel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Winchester, UK
    Beans
    264
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Why two Gnome panels

    howefield,

    Thank you for your very promp and helpful answer. That has helped me have more vertical space on my netbook.

    Mike
    Quote Originally Posted by howefield View Post
    Right click one of the panels and select "Add to Panel", add as appropriate, then delete the redundant panel.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Winchester, UK
    Beans
    264
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Why two Gnome panels

    cascade9,

    Thanks.
    What GUI do you use?

    Mike
    Quote Originally Posted by cascade9 View Post
    No, its not a stupid question, but I've got a stupid answer- I have no idea why gnome has 2 panels. It doesnt make sense tio me, but heh, I'm not a gnome user.

    Yes, it is quite possible (and fairly easy IIRC) to have the contents of the 2 panels merged into 1 panel.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Beans
    3,779

    Re: Why two Gnome panels

    KDE or Xfce mainly, though I sometimes use/test others (LXDE, fluxbox, iceWM).

    *edit I was going to post the same thing as howefield about how to add to a gnome panel (its teh same under Xfce), but I though since I wasnt 100% sure it was better not to do that

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •