Thread: "Strange" commands running before login screen

Beans

"Strange" commands running before login screen

Hello, fellow Ubuntu users!

First of all, I apologize if this isn't the correct section to post my problem, but since I'm still a beginner in Ubuntu, I decided to place it here.

Some days ago, I re-managed my Ubuntu partition (nothing major, just adding some free space through GParted) and since then, everytime I choose to go to the Ubuntu OS, it gives me a bit of the loading screen, and before I get to the login screen, the screen shows me some command lines running. Here is a screenshot:

Now, this doesn't give me any conflicts or problems, but it just kept bugging my mind on why does it appear. Is there anyway to "remove" it?

Will keep in touch.
    Stay cool, people!

[[[[]]]]/******
    Last edited by JohnnyMalakian; November 11th, 2008 at 02:22 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: "Strange" commands running before login screen

thats just the normal startup procedure of linux. usually its hidden behind the ubuntu logo during startup. nothing to worry about.

Beans

Thanks for the quick reply, nhasian.

Yeah, I presumed it would be something like that. I'm just kinda picky with this things. Is this screen "hideable"? lol xD

Cheers, mates!
    Thanks once again for the hint.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Hi Johnny

Yes MOST of it is hideable!
    Interestingly, in 8.04, having it hidden is the DEFAULT and many of us go and remove the line that hides it.

If you mess up here, taint my fault! Because the change is made in your bootloader!

Code:
    gksu gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Then ADD the words Quiet and Splash behind the letters ro in the boot linuz command line.