Page 1 of 44 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 431

Thread: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Beans
    870
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Thumbs down HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    5-12-2008
    Very imortant!
    Thanks (again) to Madscientist159 the "official" and compatible KDE3 repository is online and ready.
    Here the steps to install KDE3 into Intrepid.

    (A) If you never installed KDE3 into Intrepid

    Open your apt sources.list
    Code:
    kdesu kate /etc/apt/sources.list
    And add the following lines at the end of the file:
    Code:
    #KDE3 Intrepid PPA
    deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kb9vqf/ubuntu intrepid main
    deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/kb9vqf/ubuntu intrepid main
    Save and exit the file. Then do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop-kde3
    You'll get a bunch of packages to install, choose y (there is not verification on PPA repositories). When the installation finish, reboot your machine, at the kdm logon choose KDE3 as session.
    Done!

    (B) If you had installed KDE3 previously following the guide below, do this
    Copy your configs:
    Code:
    sudo cp -R ~/.kde ~/.kde3
    Reboot your machine and login into Gnome
    Open your apt sources.list
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    Remove (if exists) these lines:
    Code:
    deb http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/ intrepid main
    deb-src http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/ intrepid main
    and add these lines at the end of the file:
    Code:
    #KDE3 Intrepid PPA
    deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kb9vqf/ubuntu intrepid main
    deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/kb9vqf/ubuntu intrepid main
    Save and exit the file. Then do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get remove kdelibs4c2a gdebi gdebi-core kdebase-data
    sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop-kde3
    You'll get a bunch of packages to remove/install, choose y (there is not verification on PPA repositories). When the installation finish, reboot your machine, at the kdm logon choose KDE3 as session.
    Done!


    19-11-2008
    Important!
    The KDE3 repositories are offline now.
    Madscientist159 and Kubuntu Team are working to provide official KDE3 packages/repo for Kubuntu Intrepid.
    Please be patient.
    Thanks to everyone.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...&postcount=107
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...&postcount=111
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...&postcount=114


    Prologue
    I switched to Kubuntu Intrepid from Hardy and I kept KDE 3 because, in my opinion, KDE 4 is not ready to day-by-day pc operations.

    This is not a post against KDE 4, so please do not start flame war about KDE.

    I understand at large the reasons why Kubuntu team make the decision to switch the WM into KDE 4 and to do not include KDE 3 anymore; in my view this is a simply wrong decision, but it's ok.
    Anyway, because I like very much *ubuntu philosophy and KDE, I found a way to continue to use my distribution at the ultimate release (Intrepid) with my favorite (at the moment) WM, KDE 3.

    First of all I must say a big thanks to Madscientist159 that, without his precious works, the solution to use KDE 3 into Intrepid was not possible. Again, Madscientis159, in the full sense of *ubuntu community, invest his time and knowledge into this possibility.

    I did the following steps personally, but I do not guarantee that this will work for you, but if I can I'll try to help you.
    Please follow the steps indicated if you are a quite experienced user of the system.

    The upgrade from Hardy to Intrepid
    When you are still in Hardy install Gnome environment
    Code:
    sudo aptitude install ubuntu-desktop
    Reboot your machine and log into Gnome
    Open a terminal window and do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get dist upgrade
    Accept the updates if any.
    Download on your desktop my source list file sources.txt (available at the end of the post); the repositories in the sources.txt are the official one from Ubuntu; then do:
    Code:
    sudo cp ~/Desktop/sources.txt /etc/apt/sources.list
    Then upgrade the system from Hardy to Intrepid:
    To upgrade from Ubuntu 8.04, press Alt+F2 and type in "update-manager -d" (without the quotes) into the command box. Update Manager should open up and tell you: New distribution release '8.10' is available. Click Upgrade and follow the on-screen instructions.
    (I did not make the command above to upgrade, but I used apt-get, the comand above is the official one anyway)

    At the end of installation reboot your machine and log into Gnome. Now you are in Intrepid

    Install KDE 3 into Intrepid
    Attention! Install KDE 3 will REMOVE official Kubuntu KDE 4
    Open the sources.list file

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    And add the following lines (the Madscientist159 repository) at the end and save/close the file:
    Code:
    ###KDE3 on Intrepid
    deb http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/ intrepid main
    deb-src http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/ intrepid main
    Add GPG to the repository:
    Code:
    wget http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/public.gpg
    sudo apt-key add public.gpg
    Then do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    sudo apt-get install kde3
    Reboot your machine and log into KDE; now you are in KDE 3 in Intrepid

    Annoyances
    Fix KDM login window
    Code:
    sudo ln -s /usr/share/apps/kdm/themes/Krystal/ /usr/share/apps/kdm/themes/kubuntu
    Remove kde applet for network-manager (is not working)
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove knetworkmanager network-manager-kde
    Add nm-applet of Gnome into KDE
    Code:
    sudo ln -s /usr/bin/nm-applet ~/.kde/Autostart/nm-applet
    Probably you must reconfigure kicker (KDE app bar and some stuff in kcontrol like fonts and style), if you had previously (in Hardy) installed compiz+emerald the configuration will be kept intact.

    Reboot to get your networking works under KDE
    Basically now you have finished, just add Medibutu repositories
    Code:
    sudo wget http://www.medibuntu.org/sources.list.d/intrepid.list -O /etc/apt/sources.list.d/medibuntu.list
    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install medibuntu-keyring && sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    Accept the updates if any.

    Do you still want KDE 4?
    You can use the Nightly Neon ppa repositories (no GPG for authenticated packages)
    Open sources.list
    Code:
    kdesu kate /etc/apt/sources.list
    And add the following lines at the end of the file, then save/close the file:
    Code:
    ###Amarok2 & KDE4 Nightly Neon!!
    deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/project-neon/ubuntu intrepid main
    Then do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    sudo apt-get install kde-nightly
    Reboot the machine. Now you can choose 3 WM at the login window:

    * KDE 3
    * KDE 4 (Nightly)
    * Gnome


    That's it. Good luck!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by aysiu; November 1st, 2009 at 12:42 AM. Reason: Changed sudo to kdesu or gksudo as appropriate for graphical applications
    ------------------------------------------------
    yep ”short and long URL„
    http://yep.it/
    ------------------------------------------------

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    132
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    As the originator of the KDE3.5 repository, I'd like to say thank you to Dentaku for posting an excellent howto!

    Also, if you find any bugs (broken packages, packages that won't upgrade, KDE3.5 programs that are broken or don't work), please report them to my bugtracker at http://bugs.pearsoncomputing.net/

    Thanks!

    Tim
    Last edited by madscientist159; October 30th, 2008 at 07:07 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    132
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    To the poster who wanted to know how to "downgrade" back to KDE4:
    You will need to run this command before attempting to install the KDE4 master meta-package (kubuntu-desktop, IIRC):
    sudo apt-get remove '.*kde.*'
    Basically, because KDE3 is treated as an upgrade to KDE4, you need to completely remove it, meaning all of its packages, before you can install KDE4.

    NOTE: I have not tried this as I am away from my main test machine. If there is an error, post it here and I'll try to assist.
    Do you like the KDE3.5 repository and my KDE3.5 development work? Then please consider helping my work with KDE3 by donating a little something here! http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/cdimages/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Kubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    Oh God how could they?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    132
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    Quote Originally Posted by blackbelt_jones View Post
    Oh God how could they?
    Looks like a lot of people still wanted KDE3...in two days, my repository has transferred 12Gb of data to 200+ unique addresses and still climbing!

    Have you tried KDE3 under Intrepid yet? It is even faster in some respects than it was under Hardy, mainly due to the Xorg update I think.
    Do you like the KDE3.5 repository and my KDE3.5 development work? Then please consider helping my work with KDE3 by donating a little something here! http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/cdimages/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Southampton
    Beans
    176

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    not that I wish to make this thread into a flame, but I am so $%^&ed off with the Kubuntu team right now its unbelievable.

    What were they thinking retiring KDE 3.5 without asking anyone?!?!? Better still what the hell were they thinking when they decided that KDE 4 was ready?! 90% of the functionality of kde 3.5 is missing and almost 100% of the stability.

    As a user of linux for 10 years this has to be the worst move by ANY dev team I have ever seen and now I have to waste my valuable time re-installing because valiant as your post is it simply leaves half my system broken.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    132
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    Before you re-install, can you please post the error output of whatever upgrade command you were using? Otherwise I have no chance to fix whatever went wrong. Also, a reinstall may not be necessary at all...there are ways to force the packaging system back into a working state.

    Thanks!
    Do you like the KDE3.5 repository and my KDE3.5 development work? Then please consider helping my work with KDE3 by donating a little something here! http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/cdimages/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    Yes, there is a need / desire / wish for a stable kde on intrepid, and for some, it's not met by kde 4. But, I think kubuntu dev's made it clear that they can't do both.

    Would madscientist159 consider joining kubuntu team and posting them on kubuntu ppa, like some the original 3.5.10 were done for hardy? Then he could get free bandwidth too!

    regards,

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Southampton
    Beans
    176

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    OK here are my main list of faults with your KDE 3.5 for 8.10 fix

    - The taskbar and panel over lap in corners (i have one down the right side and one along the bottom, VERY annoying)

    - Like the taskbars, desktop icons refuse to see the panel too so they go under it, again annoying.

    - Networking is FUBAR, i had to manually override the config even with your suggestion above.

    - sound is DEAD

    - WiFi is DEAD

    - System performance is now very very low, even after I disabled all fancy effects mem usage for Xorg is just under 1 gig!!!!! This may just be the new version but stupid memory requirements seem very very vista'ish

    Sorry no specific errors since they all just 'dont work' and as much as I would like to route around and fix them I have a major web site launch this weekend and really did not need this mamoth waste of time.

    KDE & Kubuntu devs have really sold out the hard working power user with this update. I am really sad.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    132
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo install KDE 3 into Intrepid (repost)

    Quote Originally Posted by curuxz View Post
    OK here are my main list of faults with your KDE 3.5 for 8.10 fix

    - The taskbar and panel over lap in corners (i have one down the right side and one along the bottom, VERY annoying)

    - Like the taskbars, desktop icons refuse to see the panel too so they go under it, again annoying.

    - Networking is FUBAR, i had to manually override the config even with your suggestion above.

    - sound is DEAD

    - WiFi is DEAD

    - System performance is now very very low, even after I disabled all fancy effects mem usage for Xorg is just under 1 gig!!!!! This may just be the new version but stupid memory requirements seem very very vista'ish

    Sorry no specific errors since they all just 'dont work' and as much as I would like to route around and fix them I have a major web site launch this weekend and really did not need this mamoth waste of time.

    KDE & Kubuntu devs have really sold out the hard working power user with this update. I am really sad.
    OK, can you try something for me? Go to your home directory from the command line (do not have KDE active at this point--just switch to a virtual terminal and log in). Execute
    Code:
    mv .kde .kde-old
    and switch back to KDM or GDM and try to log in again. KDE4 will really crud up the .kde settings folder causing all kinds of weird issues like the ones you describe.

    WiFi and networking in general are known problems, and the fault does not lie with me. Try complaining to the KNetworkManager people who broke WiFi support in Intrepid (technically, KNetworkManager was not properly updated to handle the new 0.7 networkmanager backend, so nm-applet is the only networkmanager frontend that will work).

    Regarding memory usage, did you have Firefox open at the time (or at all since you started the computer)? There was a bug with Firefox, Flash and the new Xorg that sounds similar to your description--not sure if it is fixed now or not.

    Hope this helps,

    Tim
    Do you like the KDE3.5 repository and my KDE3.5 development work? Then please consider helping my work with KDE3 by donating a little something here! http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net/cdimages/

Page 1 of 44 12311 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •