Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 171

Thread: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    Thanks for the script.

    1.0.17 didn't support my on-board sound, 1.0.18 does.

    Motherboard: ASUSP5QL
    Southbridge: Intel ICH10
    Codec: VIA VT 1708S

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    Very good work, thanks for the script. Now my macbook 5.1 runs ubuntu all the time.

    But I didn't get the build-in microphone working so far. Has anyone the same problem or suggestions how to get it working?

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    DUS
    Beans
    183

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    Quote Originally Posted by daximus View Post
    I got this as well. Anyone have an idea what's missing/wrong?
    OK. Folks I check it out, with the Alsa guys.

    Perhaps you attach the Alsa log script.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    DUS
    Beans
    183

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    Quote Originally Posted by copyrights View Post
    Very good work, thanks for the script. Now my macbook 5.1 runs ubuntu all the time.

    But I didn't get the build-in microphone working so far. Has anyone the same problem or suggestions how to get it working?

    Interesting that your MacBook works. What codec are you using?

    Mic: Checkout Alsamixer. The mic is muted by default.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    DUS
    Beans
    183

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    Quote Originally Posted by kowic View Post
    I had no sound at all after upgrade from 8.04 to 8.10. I did instalation from the guide but problem is still here. No sound from any application nor the system "beeps". Only sound is its a short "crack" at system startup (like sound heard when you turn on your speakers).

    Testing sound with aplay gave this:

    kowic@Strangedevice:/$ aplay -Dplughw:0,0 -fcd /mnt/Lovrajder.wav
    aplay: main:590: audio open error: Device or resource busy


    Attached logfile from uxchecker should contain required system info.

    thanks for any suggestions
    You run the ALC660 codec. Please read the other posts related to
    configuring a particular sound card/codec!!


    Try following: Add following line at the bottom of your alsa-base file:

    options snd-hda-intel index=0 model=3stack-660

    You edit it from a terminal with

    $ sudo gedit /etc/modbprobe.d/alsa.base

    save&exit&reboot

    Good luck
    Last edited by soundcheck; November 16th, 2008 at 02:19 PM.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    DUS
    Beans
    183

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    Quote Originally Posted by jpichie View Post
    Welcome back soundcheck, any idea how I could get sound from my center speaker? everything else sounds great. uxchecker log is on page 3.
    Hi.

    I am not really a multichannel guy. There is a lot of stuff on the web.

    However:

    Try the utility speaker-test from Alsa-Utils
    which generates some pink noise on each of the available channels.

    E.g. for two channels:

    $ speaker-test -Dplughw:0,0 -c2
    or
    $ speaker-test -D front -c2

    or e.g. 6 channels (Note: type $aplay -L to find out about your pcm devices)

    $ speaker-test -D your-virtual51-device-as-shown-in-"aplay -L" -c6
    in my case:
    $ speaker-test -D surround51 -c6

    If this works you need to select the correct output device within your application.

    Perhaps you also need to setup your .asoundrc properly.
    http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/.asoundrc


    Perhaps this helps.

    Cheers
    Last edited by soundcheck; November 16th, 2008 at 12:46 PM.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    11

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    MacBook5,1

    cat /proc/asound/card1/codec#0
    Codec: Realtek ALC889A
    Address: 0
    Vendor Id: 0x10ec0885
    Subsystem Id: 0x106b3f00
    Revision Id: 0x100103
    No Modem Function Group found

    Mic works here!
    Look at the instructions https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Ma...num#Microphone
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by guggi; November 16th, 2008 at 12:55 PM.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Slovakia
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    I have added suggested line, but it didn´t work. Then I ran alsa-info script and here´s output
    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=78...03c8ace2b53e17


    I have found this line as script output too :

    WARNING: /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base line 43: ignoring bad line starting with 'option'


    It refers to the exact line I had added, I changed it to "options" and I´m going to reboot...be back with feedback

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Slovakia
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    Problem solved by editing the early reffered line. Only sound is little rusty, but its maybe my old speakers (I hope

    be back if sth wrong again (I hope not

    thanks for help to SOUNDCHECK...cheers

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Alsa 1.0.18 Installation Script

    Quote Originally Posted by guggi View Post
    MacBook5,1

    cat /proc/asound/card1/codec#0
    Codec: Realtek ALC889A
    Address: 0
    Vendor Id: 0x10ec0885
    Subsystem Id: 0x106b3f00
    Revision Id: 0x100103
    No Modem Function Group found

    Mic works here!
    Look at the instructions https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Ma...num#Microphone
    cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0
    Codec: Realtek ALC889A
    Address: 0
    Vendor Id: 0x10ec0885
    Subsystem Id: 0x106b3f00
    Revision Id: 0x100103
    No Modem Function Group found

    That seems to be the same, but still don't work. Under alsamixer I got the following entries.

    Playback:
    Master, PCM, Front, Line, Line Boost, Line-Out, Mic, Mic Boost, IEC958 (no slider), IEC958 Default PCM (no slider), Channel Mode (6ch), Speaker (no slider)

    Capture:
    Line Boost, Mic Boost, IEC958 (no slider), Digital

    I think the capture side can't be right.

Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •