Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: MenCoder, FFMPEG, VP7 codec troubles

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: MenCoder, FFMPEG, VP7 codec troubles

    ouch shittttt. I try all of it on empty file

    now..
    root@Ubuntu-804-hardy-LTS-64-minimal:/www/pages/modesco/letsmoto.com/klipz.ru/1# mencoder 232.avi -o test_converted.avi -oac copy -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg4:mbd=1:vbitrate=1800 -ffourcc XVID
    MEncoder 1.0rc2-4.2.3 (C) 2000-2007 MPlayer Team
    CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ (Family: 15, Model: 67, Stepping: 3)
    CPUflags: Type: 15 MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
    Compiled for x86 CPU with extensions: MMX MMX2 3DNow 3DNowEx SSE SSE2

    success: format: 0 data: 0x0 - 0x148ad2
    AVI file format detected.
    [aviheader] Video stream found, -vid 0
    [aviheader] Audio stream found, -aid 1
    VIDEO: [VP70] 768x576 24bpp 25.000 fps 1887.3 kbps (230.4 kbyte/s)
    [V] filefmt:3 fourcc:0x30375056 size:768x576 fps:25.00 ftime:=0.0400
    Opening video filter: [expand osd=1]
    Expand: -1 x -1, -1 ; -1, osd: 1, aspect: 0.000000, round: 1
    ================================================== ========================
    Requested video codec family [vp7] (vfm=vfwex) not available.
    Enable it at compilation.
    Cannot find codec matching selected -vo and video format 0x30375056.
    Read DOCS/HTML/en/codecs.html!
    ================================================== ========================

    Exiting...
    root@Ubuntu-804-hardy-LTS-64-minimal...o.com/klipz.ru/1#

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    18

    Re: MenCoder, FFMPEG, VP7 codec troubles

    I ran into the same error after attempting a conversion per http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=502179 .

    "Requested video codec family [vp7] (vfm=vfwex) not available."

    Obviously that codec is not available; that's why I'm trying to convert the file! Anyone have any thoughts about getting around this? The poster from the above-linked thread didn't have any problems with it, so why am I? I am also running AMD64, so perhaps that is related.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: MenCoder, FFMPEG, VP7 codec troubles

    already try to look at ftp://mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases/codecs/
    1. wget ftp://mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases/...071007.tar.bz2
    2. tar -rf all-20071007.tar.bz2
    3. mv * /usr/lib/codecs/ (directory with codecs)

    but an error has occured again

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    2

    Re: MenCoder, FFMPEG, VP7 codec troubles

    This is an old topic, but I have a question, I can run videos on VP7 in Gnome MPlayer, but I can't in Totem. This is not a problem, I don't use the Totem, just wanted to know why it doesn't work.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    55

    Re: MenCoder, FFMPEG, VP7 codec troubles

    Good question. I know MPlayer installed from Medibuntu also plays VP70 files, FWIW.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    6,930

    Re: MenCoder, FFMPEG, VP7 codec troubles

    Hi Mr_Bumpy,

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Bumpy View Post
    Good question. I know MPlayer installed from Medibuntu also plays VP70 files, FWIW.
    I believe MPlayer uses an external codec to play vp7 files:

    Code:
    andrew@skamandros~$ mplayer -vc help | grep vp7
    vp7         vfwex     working   On2 VP7 Personal Codec  [vp7vfw.dll]
    Can Totem source external windows codecs?

    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    36

    Re: MenCoder, FFMPEG, VP7 codec troubles

    I have downloaded mplayer from medibuntu and it seems that vp7 codec is already installed. But my file with vp7 codec is not not showing the video. Although the audio is working fine. Here is the output of the command

    Code:
    $ mplayer -vc help | grep vp7
    vp7         vfwex     working   On2 VP7 Personal Codec  [vp7vfw.dll]
    And here is the terminal output when I tried to play my file (.ogm format) with mplayer

    Code:
    $ mplayer blues.ogm 
    MPlayer 1.0rc4-4.4.5 (C) 2000-2010 MPlayer Team
    mplayer: could not connect to socket
    mplayer: No such file or directory
    Failed to open LIRC support. You will not be able to use your remote control.
    
    Playing blues.ogm.
    libavformat file format detected.
    [ogg @ 0x1598a20]max_analyze_duration reached
    [lavf] stream 0: video (unknown), -vid 0
    [lavf] stream 1: audio (vorbis), -aid 0
    VIDEO:  [VP70]  640x352  0bpp  29.970 fps    0.0 kbps ( 0.0 kbyte/s)
    SUB: Added subtitle file (1): ./blues.srt
    open: No such file or directory
    [MGA] Couldn't open: /dev/mga_vid
    open: No such file or directory
    [MGA] Couldn't open: /dev/mga_vid
    [VO_TDFXFB] Can't open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory.
    [VO_3DFX] Unable to open /dev/3dfx.
    Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    [vdpau] Error when calling vdp_device_create_x11: 1
    ==========================================================================
    Requested video codec family [vp7] (vfm=vfwex) not available.
    Enable it at compilation.
    Cannot find codec matching selected -vo and video format 0x30375056.
    ==========================================================================
    ==========================================================================
    Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
    AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 64.0 kbit/4.17% (ratio: 8000->192000)
    Selected audio codec: [ffvorbis] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg Vorbis)
    ==========================================================================
    AO: [pulse] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
    Video: no video
    Starting playback...
    A:   3.6 (03.5) of 5566.3 ( 1:32:46.3)  0.4% 
    
    MPlayer interrupted by signal 2 in module: play_audio
    A:   3.8 (03.7) of 5566.3 ( 1:32:46.3)  0.4%
    I am using 64-bit ubuntu 10.10. I guess the reason could be my 64-bit architecture. Have you guys tried out with 64-bit linux?
    Last edited by sazawal; March 14th, 2012 at 09:49 PM. Reason: forgot to mention the ubuntu architecture

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •