Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Would you recommend openSuse?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Would you recommend openSuse?

I have seen many ppl use openSuse at work (I use Ubuntu) .. I wanted to giv it a try and installed it on my laptop .. Its been great so far .. The integration with KDE4 feels absolutely flawless .. Yast, one central place for all settings is awesome too ..

I am not an expert when it comes to all these different distros .. I wanna how do kubuntu & openSuse differ? I know opensuse is redhat/fedora based while kubuntu is debian based .. so the package format is rpm ..

wht r the drawbacks of opensuse?
    Like I said, m just starting to learn about the architecture, back-end stuff through kubuntu .. so would you recommend opensuse at the same time coz they really differ architecture-wise?
    why do u prefer one over the other?

Sorry abt the long post!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: Would you recommend openSuse?

IMHO OpenSuse is crap. It made my select the only sound card in my pc as the default to use before I heard any sound! Also, the package manager, even tough it's a lot faster in opensuse 11.0, is still a lot slower than that of ubuntu.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Quote Originally Posted by eragon100 View Post
    IMHO OpenSuse is crap. It made my select the only sound card in my pc as the default to use before I heard any sound! Also, the package manager, even tough it's a lot faster in opensuse 11.0, is still a lot slower than that of ubuntu.
    Thanks for the reply .. For me, sound worked out of the box .. I heard that the Yast2 package manager is generations behind Synaptic ..
    That, the number of packages & the awesome community (I get instant replies on these forums whenever I need help.. wht more can u ask for) are wht r pulling me back to ubuntu ..

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala