Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ugh, two more program questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    136

    ugh, two more program questions

    the more I get into ubuntu, the more I get a little frustrated.

    Anyway, I have tried two new programs, screenlets and songbird.

    I love screenlets, but they do not start up when I start up ubuntu. If I start up the program, and click on the screenlets I already opened last time I was signed on, all of my old screenlets open in my widgets window where I want them. However, they do not start on their own.

    As for songbird, I find it annoying. However, I cannot uninstall it. How do I? What is your favorite media player for Ubuntu 8.04?

    Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    37

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    Add the screenlets commands under the sessions manager under system>perfs>sessions.

    Go to Add and add the command that starts screenlets!
    i hope that works!
    Registered Linux User # 471024
    The sentence to the right is true. The sentence to the left is false.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hendersonville, TN
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    What happens when you try to uninstall songbird?

    As for my media player, I just use the default Rhythmbox.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (testing)

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    I assume damispyderbyte has answered your first question. As for the second, how did you install songbird? from a deb or tar.gz?

    If its a deb file, search for songbird in synaptic and remove+purge it. For a tar.gz file, do you recall where it was extracted to? If not do a system scan of the songbird folder likely /usr/bin or /opt and sudo rm -f songbird. Desktop menu for songbird would still have to be removed manually.
    Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes; art is knowing which ones to keep.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    136

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    ok, stupid question, how do I find the command for screenlets?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    136

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    and I lied, I have one more question . . . sorry. While using Opera, I tried to click to desktop 2, just to look at another website on a separate desktop, no real reason for doing so. However, I could not use opera independetly on that desktop. I tried adjusting the settings, but that did not work. any suggests here?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Franklin Furnace, Ohio
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    for screenlets, on the bottom left of screenlets manager are some boxes that you can select to auto start at login.
    The only time you fail is when you quit trying.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hendersonville, TN
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    Quote Originally Posted by crimlaw View Post
    ok, stupid question, how do I find the command for screenlets?
    Short way: Have you just tried "screenlets"?

    Long way:
    Assuming you launch them from the panel, right click on the panel and select "edit menus." Find the location it's under in the "Menus" pane and when you see the icon/name for screenlets in the "Items" pane, right click that and select properties. Whatever is in the command dialog is what it is.

    I'm not really sure what you mean by using Opera independantly, but just launching a new window has always worked for me in Firefox...(never used Opera)


    EDITigmelt's way seems easier.
    Last edited by bsharp; October 22nd, 2008 at 02:52 AM. Reason: Pigmelt

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    136

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    its not the necessarily the new window I am concerened about. Maybe I should use the word, "workspace?" If I have opera open on workspace 1, then go to workspace 2 and try to open opera, it jumps back to workspace 1. In other words, I can't open opera "independently" in a chosen workspace if it is open in another workspace. Does that make more sense?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (testing)

    Re: ugh, two more program questions

    Check your settings by right clicking on opera menu tab. Did you check "Always on visible workspace"? I tried it out myself and opera works fine when I open it from workspace 2, 3, or 4.
    Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes; art is knowing which ones to keep.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •