Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Multiple source files, compile makefile

Beans

Multiple source files, compile makefile

Hi,

I am fairly new to programming in linux. For my current project, I have two .cc source files and one .h header file. I have a makefile that I am using to compile everything.

The source files are project.cc, inputMap.cc and the header file is header.h. The header file includes all the headers needed for the project and also function declarations for the functions in both the files. project.cc contains the main() function and inputMap.cc contains only one function void inputMap(int output) for which I have declaration in header.h.

I am using the following makefile to compile my code:
    CC=g++
    INCLUDES=/usr/include/player-2.0
    ARGS=/usr/share/player/examples/libplayerc++
    LIBS=/usr/lib/libplayerc++.so.2
    CFLAGS=-g -Wall -I$(INCLUDES) -I$(ARGS)
    EXECUTABLES=project

all: $(EXECUTABLES)

clean:
    rm -f core $(EXECUTABLES) *.o

.SUFFIXES: .cc .o

.cc.o:
    $(CC) $(CFLAGS) -c *.cc

project: project.o inputMap.o
    $(CC) -o project project.o $(LIBS)

inputMap: inputMap
    $(CC) -o inputMap inputMap.o

Now when I call inputMap from my project.cc file in the main() function, I get an error for undefined reference. But I am including the header file header.h which has the function declaration for inputMap. header.h is:

#ifndef HEADER_H
    #define HEADER_H

#include <libplayerc++/playerc++.h>
    #include <iostream>
    #include <cstdio>
    #include <cstdlib>
    #include <cmath>
    #include <unistd.h>
    #include <fstream>
    #include <string>
    #include "args.h"

const double pi = 3.14159265;

using namespace PlayerCc;
    using namespace std;

void inputMap(int output);
    #endif