Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Softreset failed (device not ready)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1

    Exclamation Softreset failed (device not ready)

    During the install process I got the next messages [I would say extremely slow installation process]
    BusyBox V1.10.2 (Ubuntu 1:1.10.2-1 ubuntu6) built-in shell (ash)

    [66.064009] ata7:Softreset failed (device not ready)
    [76.084008] ata8:Softreset failed (device not ready)
    [86.088009] ata8:Softreset failed (device not ready)
    [121.128011] ata8:Softreset failed (device not ready)
    [126.148007] ata8:Softreset failed (device not ready)

    What is the problem rally here with the install DVD? (regardless is it Hardy or Intrepid the same messages I got)

    GA-EP45-DQ6 motherboard



    [ The South Bridge: 6 x SATA 3Gb/s connectors (SATAII0, SATAII1, SATAII2, SATAII3, SATAII4, SATAII5) supporting up to 6 SATA 3Gb/s devices are connected but
    I did not conected any sata cables to 2 x SiI5723 chips (Smart Backup): -4 x SATA 3Gb/s connectors (GS0-Source, GS1, GS2-Source, GS3) supporting up to 4 SATA 3Gb/s devices - Support for Smart Backup (RAID 1) ]
    Last edited by ciemiku; October 16th, 2008 at 04:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    I have a similar problem and have not been able to get either Intrepid (formal release) or Hardy to install on a new ubuntu system (third machine I'm putting it on) Asus M3A78 with AMD64 4850e, see sig line. I've burned up a good day with this. It appears there may be a hardware compatibility issue at this time with the sata controller chip. see this (among others)
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/285392.

    All in all I've had a rather wretched experience building what was supposed to be a new home media, music and imagebackup server to replace a dependable old celeron/bx6 based server running on an 11 year old board. I guess I should have googled the north and south bridge chips, but I saw many people using the M3A78 without issue. Part of the problem may be using 2 x 2gb memory sticks

    good luck, cause I'm not having any.

    cheers
    PhenomIIx3 720 GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H; wf:AMD 5050e GA-MA78GM-US2H ub10.04; Svr2:Athlon II X2 250 Regor 3.0GHz, GA-790XT-USB3, CORSAIR XMS3 2Gx2 DDR3, 1600, Ub10.04; Svr3:AMD 4850e, M3A78, 2Gx2 OCZ 1066, Ub10.04

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    I get a similar problem after upgrading to 8.10 from 8.04. After the system hybernates I am unable to restart it by moving the mouse, error is something like: 759 Softreset failed (device not ready). It all worked well under 8.04.....
    Any help would be appreciated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    Same problem here, but I start experiencing this problem only after a kernel upgrade. With the kernel version coming with the installer (ubuntu 8,10) this problem didn't exist. I also had to install linux-backports-modules-intrepid-generic for Atheros wireless card.

    I upgraded the kernel using aptitude, and right now I'm running:

    Linux version 2.6.27-7-generic (buildd@palmer) (gcc version 4.3.2 (Ubuntu 4.3.2-1ubuntu11) ) #1 SMP Tue Nov 4 19:33:20 UTC 2008 (Ubuntu 2.6.27-7.16-generic)

    I found these messages related to the problem in dmesg:

    [ 3.687462] ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m1024@0xfddff800 port 0xfddff900 irq 22
    [ 3.687467] ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m1024@0xfddff800 port 0xfddff980 irq 22
    [ 3.687471] ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m1024@0xfddff800 port 0xfddffa00 irq 22
    [ 3.687475] ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m1024@0xfddff800 port 0xfddffa80 irq 22
    [ 4.176032] ata1: softreset failed (device not ready)
    [ 4.176084] ata1: failed due to HW bug, retry pmp=0
    [ 4.336049] ata1: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
    [ 4.383405] ata1.00: ATA-8: WDC WD1600BEVT-22ZCT0, 11.01A11, max UDMA/133
    [ 4.383410] ata1.00: 312581808 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32)
    [ 4.383422] ata1.00: SB600 AHCI: limiting to 255 sectors per cmd
    [ 4.384319] ata1.00: SB600 AHCI: limiting to 255 sectors per cmd
    [ 4.384322] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133
    [ 4.720067] ata2: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
    [ 5.056067] ata3: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
    [ 5.392066] ata4: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    24

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    Hi, I was having the same issue myself and found this to be the fix...
    I was getting the same list of ata# softreset failed on all of my SATA drives, and on each reboot a big load of files would have to load before it would boot.. I found the solution here https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+question/14023 in the second post of that thread.

    Such things are generally solved by adding "all_generic_ide" to the kernel line in grub (press escape when grub loading message appears, press e, select kernel line, press e and add this at the end after a space)


    Hope it works for you.

    mrdak

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    809
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    Well, this fixed ata1 soft reset but now I get it for ata3. The interesting thing is that both of those are ntfs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Beans
    1,133
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    It didn't work at all for me...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Beans
    740
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    Quote Originally Posted by Didius Falco View Post
    It didn't work at all for me...
    Nor for me. I have this problem with Ubuntu 9.04 but not with 8.10.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    12

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    I've been having the same issue, as you can see in the post here:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/285392

    It didn't matter if I tried IDE mode with a 1.5TB Seagate drive, or RAID and AHCI modes with two 500GB WD drives, I still get that error. The only thing I noticed is the two WD drives only show the error once per physical drive when in raid mode, and thttps://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/285392 then continues on, as opposed to seeing the error message multiple times and for quite a long time with the single 1.5TB drive in IDE mode.

    Also, I noticed with the RAID 0 setup, in Ubuntu 9.04 when you get to the partition section, it doesn't show the single large 1TB drive as the install option, it shows both 500GB drives, and asks which to install to.

    I'm wondering if there isn't an issue with the AMD on board raid on the ASUS M4A78-E mobo. How else would ubuntu be cable to see both physical drives when they should be setup as a RAID via hardware?

    I did notice the drives come up as SCSI (0,0,0) (sda) 500.1 GB ATA and SCSI (0,0,0) (sdb) 500.1 GB ATA?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Beans
    740
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Softreset failed (device not ready)

    If you're using the Live installer you need to install the RAID package. I don't know what that would be.

    [Edit]

    You'd want to install dmraid.
    Last edited by Jordanwb; April 20th, 2009 at 03:40 AM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •