Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is FreeBSD overkill for a laptop?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Is FreeBSD overkill for a laptop?

Hey,
    Do you think that FreeBSD is an over kill OS for laptops?
    My friends keep telling me that FreeBSD will cause me headaches, no good support for Bluetooth, WiFi, audio, video ...
    (I'm a developer, I use JDK, Python, Apache, PostgreSQL ...)
    Thanks.

Beans

Re: Is FreeBSD overkill for a laptop?

are you planning on switching over from ubuntu? If anything why dont you just try the live cd and find out for your self?

Beans
    Distro

I don't think FreeBSD 7 has a live CD.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Personally I'd install VirtualBox and run FreeBSD (command line only) in that. FreeBSD is notorious for not being great with various hardware and needing loads of config time....getting bluetooth/wifi etc working well will probably cause you headaches...
    "You should be forgiving when others make mistakes, but not when the mistakes are in you. You should be patient under duress yourself, but not when it affects others"

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

I've used FreeBSD on multiple laptops with no problems of sound, resolution, wireless, etc. It does require more configuration than Ubuntu, but that's something that can be said for almost any system other than Ubuntu.

Check here for a FreeBSD HCL.
    Spiralinear: Humanity & Machines
    RUNNING: Fedora | FreeBSD | Windows 7

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by Sorivenul View Post
    I've used FreeBSD on multiple laptops with no problems of sound, resolution, wireless, etc. It does require more configuration than Ubuntu, but that's something that can be said for almost any system other than Ubuntu.

It does require more configuration than Ubuntu, but that's something that can be said for almost any system other than Ubuntu.
    would you please tell us like what? and how to get help if I'm stuck?