Among some frustrated new users, there are are a few misconceptions about how these forums work and what the best tactics are to get help.

First of all, I will say that some parasitic behavior may actually get you a lot of help, but you're also duplicating efforts, stealing attention away from others who are equally if not more deserving of help, and ignoring basic netiquette.

Don't Cross-post
Cross-posting means posting more than one thread on the same topic. For example, if you are having problems with sound in YouTube, you might post a thread about sound in YouTube in Absolute Beginner, post another thread about sound in YouTube in Multimedia & Video, and yet another thread about sound in YouTube in General Help.

Please don't do this. Cross-posting is bad.

First of all, every time you post a new thread, it bumps down everyone else's thread off the top of the page for that subsection. Ordinarily, that's not a problem if it's just one thread. But if you're cross-posting, you're creating multiple threads where only one will do.

Secondly, you'll get duplicate help and those helping you won't know what else has been suggested to you or what else you've tried unless they're following all three or four of your threads. Keeping it to one thread keeps things efficient.

Don't bump excessively
There are two parts to this: one is the first bump, one is how often the bumps come. A bump is any post who's primary purpose is to bring your thread back up to the top of most recent threads. Bumps allow you to bring back attention to a thread that might have gotten lost in the shuffle.

If you bump once every 24 hours or so, that's acceptable behavior. If, however, you bump more frequently than that, you're bumping excessively, which is obnoxious. Don't do that.