Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: What have I done with my packages?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Portland, Oregon U.S.A.
    Beans
    1,050
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: What have I done with my packages?

    Quote Originally Posted by thonaker View Post
    First command gave me this

    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done

    So far no difference.

    The second command, I'm working on Open Arena to see if I can get that fixed. I'll get back in a bit to let you know what happens.

    Ok, so the second command you gave me ended up replacing the data files for Open Arena, it upgraded them. Still, when I try to start the program, I just get a quick flash of the screen and nothing more happens. My first person shooters all do not work, if that helps. So far, looks like all the games that came with the OS work. And as I have said, in times past, some things I have installed from the Package Manager simply do not work. The update manager tells me frequently that my system is out of date even though I'm not.

    Troy
    Try starting Open Arena in a terminal. You should get an error that will probably contain a hint about what's wrong. Reinstalling might be easier than fixing the problem, but I personally hate doing it unless I have to.

    EDIT: I just saw your post about the system claiming it needs an update when it doesn't. Yikes, that's gnarly.
    Last edited by DirtDawg; October 12th, 2008 at 07:19 PM. Reason: :nosaeR

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    35

    Re: What have I done with my packages?

    That's one of my problems. How do I do I do it with the terminal? I'm just not used to the Linux terminal. When I installed Serious Sam 2 with Loki files, I had no real idea how to do what they were telling me to do. They said type "Serious Sam" or something like that.

    Yeah, it's funny, I keep getting my updates but it keeps telling me I'm not up to date. I've read about others having the problem a little while back.

    Troy

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: What have I done with my packages?

    for your updates try:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Portland, Oregon U.S.A.
    Beans
    1,050
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: What have I done with my packages?

    Quote Originally Posted by thonaker View Post
    That's one of my problems. How do I do I do it with the terminal? I'm just not used to the Linux terminal. When I installed Serious Sam 2 with Loki files, I had no real idea how to do what they were telling me to do. They said type "Serious Sam" or something like that.
    Troy
    If you installed openarena through synaptic or with a .deb package, you should be able to run it by opening the terminal and simply entering 'openarena' (w/o quotes, of course). Most apps try to make their commands relatively obvious. It can be a pain when they don't.

    If you installed Open Arena locally, you can enter the path to the binary. For example, to run mine I enter:
    Code:
    ~/localapps/openarena-0.8.0/openarena.i386
    EDIT: FYI, if you ever want to see a command for a menu item, right-click your 'Applications' menu and choose 'Edit Menus', then choose the application in question, right-click it and choose 'Properties'. There you will see the command to run in a terminal in the 'Command' box.
    Last edited by DirtDawg; October 13th, 2008 at 03:38 AM. Reason: The Season

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    35

    Re: What have I done with my packages?

    Thanks for that info on the commands.

    Here's what I get when I try to run Open Arena from the terminal

    /home/troy/.openarena/baseoa
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/pak7-patch.pk3 (1 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/pak6-misc.pk3 (226 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/pak5-TA.pk3 (138 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/pak4-textures.pk3 (2033 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/pak2-players.pk3 (669 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/pak2-players-mature.pk3 (231 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/pak1-maps.pk3 (98 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/pak0.pk3 (1035 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa/more_crosshairs.pk3 (78 files)
    /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa

    ----------------------
    4509 files in pk3 files
    execing default.cfg
    execing q3config.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
    ----- Client Initialization -----
    Couldn't read q3history.
    ----- Initializing Renderer ----
    -------------------------------
    QKEY found.
    ----- Client Initialization Complete -----
    ----- R_Init -----
    SDL using driver "x11"
    Initializing OpenGL display
    Estimated display aspect: 1.333
    ...setting mode 6: 1024 768
    Available modes: '1024x768 320x240 400x300 416x312 512x384 576x432 640x480 700x525 800x600 832x624 640x512 576x384 320x200 640x400 720x450 840x525 640x384 360x200 720x400 320x175 640x350'
    Couldn't get a visual
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (6)
    Setting r_mode 6 failed, falling back on r_mode 3
    Initializing OpenGL display
    ...setting mode 3: 640 480
    Available modes: '1024x768 320x240 400x300 416x312 512x384 576x432 640x480 700x525 800x600 832x624 640x512 576x384 320x200 640x400 720x450 840x525 640x384 360x200 720x400 320x175 640x350'
    Couldn't get a visual
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ----- CL_Shutdown -----
    RE_Shutdown( 1 )
    -----------------------
    GLimp_Init() - could not load OpenGL subsystem


    Looks like something related to display modes and OpenGL.

    Troy

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    35

    Re: What have I done with my packages?

    I was just looking at the OpenGL thing and the settings and decided to check on my graphics driver. You know what? The Nvidia driver some how got de-selected and was not in use.

    I guess that would explain some of the graphically more intense things not running.

    Open Arena looks like it is running now. I may not have to re-install after all.

    Troy

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •