Thread: Java Help

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Java Help

Sorry if this is the wrong forum. Noticed a FAQ for setting up JAVA (compiling/running), so thought this was the place for this kind of thing. Anyway...

Not sure why the hell this is happening to me, but basically, the only way I can sum up my problem is whenever I use a JOptionPane.* object (or is it method, I'm a newb to this stuff), it'll show the nice little pop-up and than basically crash. I can manually stop the code using eclipse, but if I run it through Terminal, the pop-up never disappears, I can't hit the "Ok" button or the "X" button to get rid of it. Annoying as hell. Basically, the following code:
    Code:
    import javax.swing.*;
    public class popTest {
    	public static void main(String[] args) {
    		JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null, "Hello, World!");
    		System.exit(0);
    	}
    }
    does what I want it to (create a message pop-up), I just can't get rid of it.

Any suggestions?
    Last edited by Master_Odin; October 10th, 2008 at 04:44 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Java Help

I usually pass this into the optionpane

Code:
    JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(this, "Hello, World!");
    no idea id it will help. googleing 'JOptionPane.showMessageDialog crashes' did turn up a number of hits. do you have a stacktrace of the error?
    what does the exception look like if you trap your call in a try/catch?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Thanks for the search tip. Was searching something completely idiotic ("eclpise pop-up crashes"). Found what I was looking for here:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-684511.html

Apparently, all I had to do was change the compiler and all is now right with the world. Damn eclipse for using a crappy compiler

Thanks for the comment though doas777, though I have no idea what you meant by "do you have a stacktrace of the error?" I'm a complete newb to Java programming.