Thread: Freegate proxy

Beans

Freegate proxy

Hi... i am new to linux... i want to use freegate(windows proxy program) in ubuntu ... i use wine for it but it doesnot work can someone pls tell me how configure it right ...pls help

Beans

Re: Freegate proxy

Same problem Here. I live in Beijng, so dudes, please help a dude out. They block the shitte out of stuff here, chavvy scum.

THanks.
    Run a HP Pavilion dv1000t Laptop w/ 2gig Ram. Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy w/ Compiz.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

How does using a proxy on your machine help you out in China? Wouldn't the proxy need to be outside China?

The easiest way for you to proxy out of your machine to bypass local filtering is to use SSH in socks mode. It's real easy in Ubuntu and you don't need to install any program that's not already there by default. But you do need a ssh server runnig outside the filter (China?). And it so happens there are some pretty cheap ways to do that.

For example, you could get the cheapest vps account at vpslink.com ($8/mo) or even cheaper a $4/mo. ssh proxy account at santrex.com. I have my own vps because I use it for hosting my sites and the ssh is just a bonus. Point is - to get around filtering you need something outside to filtered network to talk to. There's probably even free ways to do this.

Then you open a console and type, ssh -D 8080 user@xxx.yyy with your userid and ip/domain name. SSH will contact the ssh server at that ip and connect. It will need your password or key and then it will start a socks proxy on that machine.

Now just tell Firefox/Thunderbird (whatever, even skype works) to use SOCKS 5 proxy at localhost:8080 - you would have to do this anyway no matter what proxy you use. But also you can do it from System->Prefs->Netowrk Proxy in Ubuntu. If FF is set right it will pick it up.