Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 105

Thread: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Plymouth, MI, USA
    Beans
    74
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Question Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    I fresh installed Ibex on Hardy with a separate Home. So all my data is intact.
    I am really very impressed with the new dark theme.

    But sometimes I am running into an issue where Ibex doesn't let Ubuntu boot. The slider just gets frozen at around 20% and the only option I have is to Hard Reset.
    I tried restarting, but that doesn't help. But after several trials it sometime goes through. But this is not what it should be doing. I hope this bug has been reported and the devs are aware of it.

    Is there any quick solution for this prob...anyone..???

    Thanks
    Ubuntu Rocks, Ibex rocks even more...!!!

    Anurag Bansal
    http://www.knowliz.com
    Knowliz.com
    Ubuntu user # 20905, Linux User # 467410,
    Dell Inspiron 1505, 2GB RAM, Dual Boot with Vista.


  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    77

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    I just tried to do a clean install of 8.10, after using 8.04 on my thinkpad t61p. It was a disaster. Not only did I have the GigE problem so no ethernet

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/263555


    but I also had the "Wireless event too big" problem with my ipw4965 card

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/267063.

    So no internet connection at all!! I'm just doing a reinstall of 8.04.

    My advice for owners of this laptop is to wait till the RC version appears and the bugs have been fixed

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    19,335
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    I just tried to do a clean install of 8.10, after using 8.04 on my thinkpad t61p. It was a disaster. Not only did I have the GigE problem so no ethernet

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/263555


    but I also had the "Wireless event too big" problem with my ipw4965 card

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/267063.

    So no internet connection at all!! I'm just doing a reinstall of 8.04.

    My advice for owners of this laptop is to wait till the RC version appears and the bugs have been fixed
    Here's the GigE sticky about that problem. Actually it is in the rc version too. Within a few days, a newer version (2.6.27-5.8) will be in the repositories and the problem is fixed in it.

    Update: The 2.6.27-5.8 kernel is now in the repositories.
    Last edited by Sef; October 7th, 2008 at 12:43 PM. Reason: update
    Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence. Abigail Adams ( 1744 - 1818 ), 1780;

    My blog Poetry and More Free Ubuntu Magazine

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    everything is working great for me, its faster than hardy so far. But. I cant get desktop effects enabled. Running a ATI Radeon X1600, any ideas?

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    651

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    Stumbled onto the availability of this beta at the end of my weekend. Call me brave or fool-hearty, but I first downloaded both the live CD file and the Alternate CD file, then, ran the online update routine, and all is working well. If figured if the upgrade worked, great. If it didn't, well, there are enough kinks in my XP dual boot that a system rebuild would not be the end of the world. What I guess I will miss is the sure convergence that I was realizing in solving why 8.04 would randomly lock up on me. Hopefully, that convergence is moot with the new beta - we'll see.

    One thing that threw me off was re-establishing my wireless connection. The old iwconfig command appears to show valid associations, but, apparently, you cannot use the command line in a terminal to establish a wireless adapter associaton - it would not work for me, and the old Network menu choice is no longer present under System-Administration.

    Took me quite a while (5 minutes or less) to discover the icon at the top right of the screen that allows you to graphically browse available connections and to choose one and set it up.

    I would criticize the developers for not warning me about this, except that I haven't spent the time reading the documentation in order to ascertain that I didn't miss the warning.

    The upgrade process went flawlessly. I did read some little blurb about a minor performance hit that I suffer from upgrading rather than doing a fresh install. Would appreciate if someone could clarify that point for me.

    Can't say that I've seen much of this new version, yet, but, so far, I see nothing that evokes other than a positive feeling about it.

    Caruso

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Perth Amboy, NJ
    Beans
    141
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    i just upgraded from hardy to intrepid; all went well. The only problem is the shutdown problem i had before (would freeze after "Will now restart" came on ).

    probably a networking issue like before, but that's not a big problem. Other than that, Intrepid is running pretty good on my Toshiba Satellite

    i like how you have a Quick Search in Synaptic now, and the theme is pretty awesome too. Kudos to the developers
    Welcome to the world of Open Source!!!
    Linux User #471120 Ubuntu User #21997
    Jaunty Jackalope 9.04

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (testing)

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    I had some great problems upgrading my girlfriend's laptop to Intrepid Beta. She had some minor problems, so we decided to try the new beta. I'm with Intrepid since early pre-alpha, so I thought everything will be ok.
    However the upgrade manager spew some nasty errors while upgrading and in no time libc6 was corrupted.

    I tried booting the live CD, but it turns out there are some major problems with the disk drive drivers. It kept spilling buffer I/O errors about sr0 (I guess this is some raid device, probably the cd-rom). This is on a Dell Vostro 1310 laptop. I was able to boot using the alternate cd, chroot, then install the Intrepid libc6 packages by using the LC_ALL=C prefix. The packages I had to download from another computer.

    After that a reboot and numerous dpkg -i --force-all installations of separate packages, until dpkg --configure -a ran and then apt-get -f install.

    I'm just sharing, in case anybody runs into something similar.
    Fitter Happier

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    19,335
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    I'm just sharing, in case anybody runs into something similar.
    Thank you for sharing that.
    Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence. Abigail Adams ( 1744 - 1818 ), 1780;

    My blog Poetry and More Free Ubuntu Magazine

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    2,594
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    Quote Originally Posted by zbrox View Post
    spew some nasty errors while upgrading and in no time libc6 was corrupted.
    There is a bug filed about libc6 and this is important to track down.

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...kg/+bug/278804

    Thread about this:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=939129

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (testing)

    Re: Upgrading Ubuntu to Intrepid Ibex from Hardy Heron

    It looks like the same problem but not quite. In my case the dist upgrade failed on numerous packages, including the libc6 one and the errors seem similar to those.
    After that however nothing was able to start, giving an error about the command needing GLIBC_2.8. I couldn't even run ls in the command prompt. And when the computer was shut down it wasn't able to start up.
    I'll post a link to my entry here, just in case, but maybe the problem is different... I don't know...
    Fitter Happier

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •