Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] Ubuntu Server for an Absoloute Beginner

Beans

Question [SOLVED] Ubuntu Server for an Absoloute Beginner

Greetings good people,

I've been using Ubuntu for a couple of months now. I love it. But I'm still a beginner, as I have problems using the command lines.

I've just installed Ubuntu Server 8.04, on a test machine.

It was with great disappointment that I discovered the command line interface. I was expecting a GUI.

I now stuck.

I stress again that I'm a complete noob. I'm not used to working without a GUI.

I am hoping that there is a GUI that I can get access to. If not, I guess I'm going to have to start learning how to work with a terminal interface.

Is there a GUI?

If not, should I try a different version of a Linux Server that does have a GUI?

Can anyone recommend a place where I can learn the basics of using the terminal?

As I'm not good (and not happy) with using command lines, should I forget about using Linux?

Thanks everyone

D
    Mental note: SunnyRabbiera says "remember kiddies: sudo rm -rf= BAD!"

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Ubuntu Server for an Absoloute Beginner

Really, the solution here is to learn how to use the terminal. If you expect to have a functional server, you should expect to be using the terminal.

You could add a GUI to Ubuntu server... Check out this post for example:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...server-463053/
    P4HT 3.6ghz/G31T-M motherboard/2 GB DDR2 RAM/nVidia 9600GT 512MB PCI-E/WD5000AAKS 500GB/ST3750528AS 750GB/Ubuntu 10.04/Desktop/Server

Beans

I'm sorry, but you don't *have to* restrict yourself to the terminal to have a server, especially if it's a home server or you are a beginner. That's ridiculous. Sure, there are a lot of more advanced things that can't be done in a GUI, but let's be fair here.

desai, you can have a GUI very quickly:
    Code:
    sudo aptitude install xorg gdm gnome