Thread: No Wireless Since Update to Ubunto 8.04 LTS

Beans

No Wireless Since Update to Ubunto 8.04 LTS

Hi! Newbie here. I had Ubuntu 6.x for a year, no problem. Then I did a BUNCH of updates, winding up with Ubuntu 8.04 LTS. Ever since, my Network Manager detects ZERO wireless networks (I have tried several). With the Ubuntu Help Center, I was able to figure out the problem (I think), but there was no suggestion of how to solve it.

cf.
    "Troubleshooting 3.2.3 Check device is on"

I enter
    <sudo lshw -C network>
    to see that while my Network controller and Ethernet interface seem fine, to my untrained eyes, my Wireless interface is clearly marked
    <*-network DISABLED>.

Sadly, the help guide only then offers a suggestion for "If the device is turned on", suggestion nothing for when, as in my case, the device is turned off.

Long story short, how can I ENABLE MY WIRELESS INTERFACE?

Much Thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Re: No Wireless Since Update to Ubunto 8.04 LTS

Right-click on the network icon in notification panel and see if it has "enable wireless" as a choice. Then check System > Administration > Hardware Drivers to see if they're enabled there. If they are enabled, disable them, restart, and then enable them and reboot again.. that's fixed mine on several occasions. Also, does your computer have a physical switch to manually turn the wireless on and off? Mine does and once I didn't notice it was in the off position and I thought there was something wrong with Ubuntu. Spent too much time checking all the wrong things. Computers don't make us smart, they just let us feel like we are sometimes... make us feel stupid sometimes too.
    Last edited by pastalavista; October 1st, 2008 at 09:29 PM.

Beans

Thanks for your reply!