Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Standby/resume from standby

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    212

    Question Standby/resume from standby

    Hi,

    I'd like to make my Mythbuntu PC go into standby, so I don't have to leave it switched on all the time, and for it to resume to make scheduled recordings.

    I have a Shuttle SN95G5v2 and it allows the PC to 'suspend', however, I can't find a Power option in the Mythbuntu menu, so I have to exit Mythbuntu in order to put my PC into suspend mode - meaning that it doesn't start up again automatically.

    Is Mythbuntu able to do this and can anyone advise what I need to do?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Beans
    822
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Standby/resume from standby


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    212

    Re: Standby/resume from standby

    Thanks for the quick response.

    I thought it would be more straightforward, but it looks like it's a job for the weekend...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Beans
    822
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Standby/resume from standby

    Yes, the whole Hibernate / Auto Wake think is a bit thorny from what I've seen. I've been putting it off until I've got the rest of the system sorted.
    I cleared the last hurdle tonight, so It looks like I'm going to have to delve in soon as well...
    Watch this space!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: Standby/resume from standby

    As an Ubuntu novice I can recommend the tutorial at
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/My...tNext/ACPIWake

    This recipe works even if like me you have little idea what some of it actually means! So don't be put off if it looks daunting. It is hard to spot any mistakes you might make so be really careful, using cut-and-paste where possible.

    Having said it works, I do have one sleep/wake issue with my combined frontend/backend system. Having set a recording and quit the frontend the system will sleep after the backend times out. When it wakes the system goes as far as the logon dialog -which is fine for the recording as the Myth backend is running at that point. The problem now is that the backend timout will not work. Paradoxically you have to logon and then it will.

    Now I could swear that when I first got the system running this logon dialog did not appear and you went directly from power-on to the desktop. Maybe I'm kidding myself though...I have tried fiddling around with options relating to logon and sessions but nothing so far has helped. Ideas anyone?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Beans
    822
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Standby/resume from standby

    Isn't autologon an option in MCC? Perhaps it got unchecked by mistake.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: Standby/resume from standby

    Ah, thanks for getting me on the right track! I thought that option was just to autostart the frontend. As a running a frontend stops the machine going to sleep via Mythbuntu inactivity timeout I had unchecked it. Now that I have restored auto logon I soon found how to stop the frontend autostarting by deleting the MythTV Frontend file found in /home/'my_username'/.config/autostart.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    212

    Re: Standby/resume from standby

    Quote Originally Posted by eddypolak View Post
    As an Ubuntu novice I can recommend the tutorial at
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/My...tNext/ACPIWake

    This recipe works even if like me you have little idea what some of it actually means! So don't be put off if it looks daunting. It is hard to spot any mistakes you might make so be really careful, using cut-and-paste where possible.
    Thanks for the link.

    At step 1.1, my system returned /proc/acpi/alarm, so does this mean I can skip to step 1.5?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    212

    Question Re: Standby/resume from standby

    I've carried on with the changes from https://help.ubuntu.com/community/My...tNext/ACPIWake and everything was looking good up to the 'Another Test' section.

    However, when I typed...

    sudo mythbackend &

    the text below was displayed (unexpectedly). I use a dual tuner card and it works fine, so does anyone know why this problem occurred?

    Furthermore, I'm not sure if my system clock is UTC. I'm in the UK and we are currently on BST, which is GMT+1. The BIOS clock says (e.g.)
    21:25, whereas it is actually 22:25.
    I only have Mythbuntu on this PC.

    Any advice? I get the feeling I'm nearly there...!
    Thanks.

    alex@alex-mythbuntu:~$ sudo mythbackend &
    [1] 7151
    alex@alex-mythbuntu:~$ 2008-10-23 22:03:40.084 Using runtime prefix = /usr
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.085 Empty LocalHostName.
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.085 Using localhost value of alex-mythbuntu
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.094 New DB connection, total: 1
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.099 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.100 Closing DB connection named 'DBManager0'
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.101 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.102 New DB connection, total: 2
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.102 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.104 Current Schema Version: 1214
    Starting up as the master server.
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.123 DVBChan(1:0) Error: Opening DVB frontend device failed.
    eno: Device or resource busy (16)
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.124 DVBChan(2:0) Error: Opening DVB frontend device failed.
    eno: Device or resource busy (16)
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.125 DVBChan(3:1) Error: Opening DVB frontend device failed.
    eno: Device or resource busy (16)
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.126 DVBChan(4:1) Error: Opening DVB frontend device failed.
    eno: Device or resource busy (16)
    ERROR: no valid capture cards are defined in the database.
    Perhaps you should read the installation instructions?
    QServerSocket: failed to bind or listen to the socket
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.134 MediaServer::HttpServer Create Error
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.134 mythbackend version: 0.21.20080304-1 www.mythtv.org
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.134 Enabled verbose msgs: important general
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.135 AutoExpire: CalcParams(): Max required Free Space: 1.0 GB w/freq: 15 min
    QServerSocket: failed to bind or listen to the socket
    2008-10-23 22:03:40.137 Failed to bind port 6543. Exiting.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    212

    Question Re: Standby/resume from standby

    Just wondering if anybody has any ideas on this?

    Need to get my power on/off working by the end of the weekend.
    Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •