Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problem with Phonon audio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    21

    Problem with Phonon audio

    Hello!
    I get this whenever i start my music player. What can I do to make it disappear?

    Code:
    Phonon
    The audio playback device HDA Nvidia (AD198x analog) does not work. falling back to HDA Nvidia (AD198x analog).
    I am running Kubuntu 8.04.1 with KDE 4.1.1.

    The sound is working, but song switching is kinda weird.

    BR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    168
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Problem with Phonon audio

    Just upgraded to Jaunty 64 on straight Ubuntu and got Amarok 2 for first time... and it wont play anything AND removed the gui options to edit desired default playback device. It is totally unusable now.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Katy, TX USA
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Problem with Phonon audio

    I stumbled upon a solution that worked for me. Install phonon-backend-xine and select that as your preferred plugin in System Settings/Multimedia.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arlesey, UK
    Beans
    183
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Problem with Phonon audio

    I get a similar error message except that it is falling back to the digital output and I lose sound. I already have the Xine backend. I installed 9.04 on this PC a while back and get this problem now and again.

    Any other ideas?
    Steve bagofspoons.net
    Running on an AMD A86500 with 8GB on a Gigabyte GA-F2A88X-D3H plus SSD, 1TB HDD, M-Audio Delta

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arlesey, UK
    Beans
    183
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Problem with Phonon audio

    Still getting this problem. Sound can be fine for a while then may suddenly stop with the above message from Amarok. I was streaming audio from last.fm today when it suddenly happened. The only way I know how to get sound back is to restart the PC.

    The problem also occurs sometimes when a second person logs in and ends up with no sound. We each have our own accounts and often have several people logged in and switch between the sessions.

    Most references to such problems mention using the Phonon Xine backend, which I already do, and removing Pulseaudio, which I don't have installed.
    Steve bagofspoons.net
    Running on an AMD A86500 with 8GB on a Gigabyte GA-F2A88X-D3H plus SSD, 1TB HDD, M-Audio Delta

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Beans
    842
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Problem with Phonon audio

    You can also try dropping to a console (konsole) and playing with alsamixer. For some odd reason I had two computers with Kubuntu installed and had the PCM set to mute. . . . which negates the audio experience.
    Please Insert Funny Statement Here.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •