Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Castle, PA
    Beans
    1,251
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFly View Post
    Okay, thanks!

    New problem after typing "sudo mount /dev/hdb1 '/media/My Book':
    "mount: special device /dev/hdb1 does not exist"

    Hm.. What exactly is /dev/hdb1?
    That is what the hard drive is called, that is why I asked for sudo fdisk -l.

    For an example, I have two hard drives, first one is /dev/sda1, this is where Linux is, the second one is /dev/sda2, that is where I keep my files.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    27

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    I have sda and sdb on mine. Sda is where linux is, and sdb is where my files are.

    When i type :" sudo mount /dev/sda '/media/My Book'" it says "mount: /dev/sda already mounted or /media/My Book busy

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Castle, PA
    Beans
    1,251
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFly View Post
    I have sda and sdb on mine. Sda is where linux is, and sdb is where my files are.

    When i type :" sudo mount /dev/sda '/media/My Book'" it says "mount: /dev/sda already mounted or /media/My Book busy
    You will want to type sudo mount /dev/sdb1 '/media/My Book', the one is important. And yes sda1 is already mounted if that is where Linux is Installed.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    /dev/sdb refers to the 2nd hard drive, which /dev/sdb1 refers to the 1st partition on that drive. For instance, I have some 10-odd partitions on one of my drives (for various operating systems), which I differentiate between with /dev/sda1, /dev/sda2, etc.

    Posting the output of
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    as requested will help us explain this a bit better.
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    27

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    Okay, it seemed to be mounted now, but the "superuser"-error still appears when I try to open the my book..

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Castle, PA
    Beans
    1,251
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    You will want to own My Book so
    Code:
    sudo chown username '/media/My Book'
    then you should be able to access the directory.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    27

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    I will have to rewrite everything from terminal since I cannot use the Wi Fi on the internet with my eee, so I am on another computer now. I cannot copy it with a USB stick either, since the same error occurs...

    Device boot: boot: Start: End:
    /dev/sda1 * 1 486 Linux
    /dev/sda2 487 490 Linux Swap

    Device boot: start end
    /dev/sdb1 1 981 Linux

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFly View Post
    Okay, it seemed to be mounted now, but the "superuser"-error still appears when I try to open the my book..
    I was about to ask if you have followed my instructions to chmod and chown it, then realized that was in a different thread...

    You should be able to copy files if you open nautilus as root:
    Code:
    gksudo nautilus
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Castle, PA
    Beans
    1,251
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    Ok summing this all up:
    Code:
    sudo chown yourusername '/media/My Book'
    then
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sdb1 '/media/My Book'
    then you should be able to open and transfer files from that hard drive. Or you can do the above stated by Xiong.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    40.31996,-80.607213
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Mount: Must be superuser to mount.

    You can also try:
    Code:
    sudo mount -o rw,user /dev/sdb1 '/media/My Book'
    "Security lies within the user of who runs the system. Think smart, live safe." - Dr Small
    Linux User #441960 | Wiki: DrSmall

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •