Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The name Ubuntu? (outsider perspective)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Cool The name Ubuntu? (outsider perspective)

Hello people. I’m very new to Ubuntu & Linux as a whole, but so far, I’m absolutely in love with the Ubuntu O/S. I really expected the whole process of installation & operation to me more difficult than it has been. That being said, am I alone in just completely disliking the name “Ubuntu?” I understand the whole point of it having an “African” name, but it just sounds like some kind of expensive French pastry dish. Being brand new to the O/S, my opinion is probably not the most valid, but I was just curious if anyone else felt the same way…

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: The name Ubuntu? (outsider perspective)

There have been threads on this before and some people like it, some don't. That pretty much goes for anything really though doesn't it? That's what it's called, and it isn't going to change. I happen to really like the name and find it much more interesting than say 'Windows' or 'PCLinuxOS', plus it sums up the ideals very nicely. My suggestion is to let your good experience with it be more important than what it's called.

Also as a side note, the fact that you're new to the OS doesn't somehow mean you have a less valid opinion.
    Last edited by Ozor Mox; September 24th, 2008 at 06:54 PM. Reason: Rubbish grammar.

Beans

Some people here don't like it, but I think that the majority do.
    The former asjdfwejqrfjcvm msz34rq33
    UbuntuForums member #98464 | Ubuntu Help & Support
    Never run any command unless you understand exactly what it will do. [link]

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by woktrr View Post