Page 37 of 58 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast
Results 361 to 370 of 572

Thread: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

  1. #361
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    3,993
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Pablo, suddenly I started seeing the image in the window!!! But, it was just about 1/4 of the actual
    size of the picture. I looked in tmp and the pic was 432x432! I am just happy to see any picture.

    It seems almost every picture is a different size though. Not sure what can be done about that.
    Thanks!
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  2. #362
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by akhenaton View Post
    Hi all,

    kaivalagi this script print this in python >= 2.7:

    conkyRhythmbox.py", line 45
    self.parser.add_option("-t", "--template", dest="template", type="string", metavar="FILE", help=u"define a template file to generate output in one call. A displayable item in the file is in the form [--datatype=TI]. The following are possible options within each item: --datatype,--ratingchar. Note that the short forms of the options are not currently supported! None of these options are applicable at command line when using templates.")

    I think that optparse module is deprecated, more info in:
    http://docs.python.org/library/optparse.html

    I don't a python programmer.

    Thanks for the great script !!!

    Thanks for the heads up...not sure why though but I have no issues and I am running 2.7...

    If I run this it's fine:
    Code:
    ]$ python2.7 /usr/share/conkyforecast/conkyForecast.py --datatype=MP
    First Quarter
    I know from version 3 there will be lots of issues...

  3. #363
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    UPDATE

    Updates as follows:
    • Updated the /usr/bin/ script to dynamically call the available python exec as /usr/bin/python is linked to Python 3 (Arch) or will be at some point (Ubuntu)


    Package changes can be seen here: https://launchpad.net/~conkyhardcore...source.changes

    The apt packages should be available soon

  4. #364
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    Pablo, suddenly I started seeing the image in the window!!! But, it was just about 1/4 of the actual
    size of the picture. I looked in tmp and the pic was 432x432! I am just happy to see any picture.

    It seems almost every picture is a different size though. Not sure what can be done about that.
    Thanks!
    Cavsfan, the "250x250" bit in the "image" variable specifies the size that the image will be resized to. For me, at least, it doesn't matter what size the original image is, it gets resized according to the setting in the image variable.

    So, if you're misisng bits of a large image, try smaller resize values - I find 80x80 works well on my 1680x1050 screen. If yours is smaller than that, try 64x64 or similar. If you get that, and the placement, right, you'll see the whole image, eg:

    Code:
    ${image [--datatype=CA] -n -p 0,0 -s 64x64}]

  5. #365
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    3,993
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Pablovski View Post
    Cavsfan, the "250x250" bit in the "image" variable specifies the size that the image will be resized to. For me, at least, it doesn't matter what size the original image is, it gets resized according to the setting in the image variable.

    So, if you're misisng bits of a large image, try smaller resize values - I find 80x80 works well on my 1680x1050 screen. If yours is smaller than that, try 64x64 or similar. If you get that, and the placement, right, you'll see the whole image, eg:

    Code:
    ${image [--datatype=CA] -n -p 0,0 -s 64x64}]
    Thanks! I have a 1920x1200 screen and put it to 80x80 and it seemed like it worked for one song, but
    another with another song the pic. was less than 1/4 of the actual size of the pic.

    And the "-p 0,0" seems to have no effect, I have tried 0,500, 20,0 and 0,0 and the position does not change.
    I change it and save conkyRhyhmbox.template and then save the .conkyrc file and it disappears and then reappears.
    Code:
    ${image [--datatype=CA] -n -p 0,0 -s 80x80}
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  6. #366
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Cavsfan,
    Could you post a screenshot and your .conkyrc plus the template file? The -p position switch works for me, as does the the -s scale switch, so there might be something else in the config file that's stopping it working.

    Also, what version of conky are you using?

    Code:
    conky --version
    My conky window is 280px wide and is placed on the RHS of the screen. I place the CA image at 0,865 - so it's on the LH edge (0) and 865 px down from the top of the conky window. The CA image is always the same 80x80px.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #367
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    3,993
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Pablovski View Post
    Cavsfan,
    Could you post a screenshot and your .conkyrc plus the template file? The -p position switch works for me, as does the the -s scale switch, so there might be something else in the config file that's stopping it working.

    Also, what version of conky are you using?

    Code:
    conky --version
    My conky window is 280px wide and is placed on the RHS of the screen. I place the CA image at 0,865 - so it's on the LH edge (0) and 865 px down from the top of the conky window. The CA image is always the same 80x80px.
    I have 2 conkys - one on the right side of the screen displaying weather and cpu temps etc. And it takes the whole right side of my screen.
    So, I put the Rhythmbox conky on the left bottom of the screen.

    My .conkyrc (for Rhythmbox)
    Code:
    # UBUNTU-CONKY
    # A comprehensive conky script, configured for use on
    # Ubuntu / Debian Gnome, without the need for any external scripts.
    #
    # Based on conky-jc and the default .conkyrc.
    # INCLUDES:
    # - tail of /var/log/messages 
    # - netstat connections to your computer
    #
    # -- Pengo (conky@pengo.us)
    #
    
    # Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
    own_window yes
    own_window_type override
    own_window_hints undecorated,sticky,below,skip_pager,skip_taskbar
    own_window_transparent yes
    background no
    
    # Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
    double_buffer yes
    
    # fiddle with window
    use_spacer right
    use_xft yes
    
    # Update interval in seconds
    update_interval 5.0
    
    # Minimum size of text area
    # minimum_size 10 2
    
    # Draw shades?
    draw_shades no
    
    # Text stuff
    draw_outline no # amplifies text if yes
    draw_borders no
    
    uppercase no # set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
    
    # Stippled borders?
    stippled_borders 0
    
    # border margins
    border_inner_margin 0
    border_outer_margin 0
    
    # border width
    border_width 1
    
    # Max width
    maximum_width 280
    
    # Default colors and also border colors, 
    default_color B0B0B0
    default_shade_color B0B0B0
    default_outline_color B0B0B0
    
    own_window_colour brown
    own_window_transparent yes
    
    # Text alignment, other possible values are commented
    #alignment top_left
    #alignment top_right
    alignment bottom_left
    #alignment bottom_right
    
    # Gap between borders of screen and text
    gap_x 1
    gap_y 0
    
    #I Don't cache images
    imlib_cache_size 0
    
    override_utf8_locale yes
    xftfont Terminus:size=8
    xftalpha 0.8
    
    # stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen
    
    TEXT
    
    
    
    ${color}${if_running rhythmbox}${font Aller:size=11}${color #656565}Rhythmbox Is Now Playing:
    ${color #656565}${execibar 1 conkyRhythmbox --datatype=PP}
    ${execp conkyRhythmbox --template=~/.conkyrhythmbox/conkyRhythmbox.template}
    ${endif}
    Here's the conkyRhythmbox.template for it:
    Code:
    ${color3}Status:${color1}[--datatype=ST]
    ${color3}Artist:${color1}[--datatype=AR]
    ${color3}Album:${color1}[--datatype=AL]
    ${color3}Title:${color1}[--datatype=TI]
    ${color3}Position:${color1}[--datatype=PT]/[--datatype=LE] - [--datatype=PP]%
    ${color3}Rating:${color1}[--datatype=RT]
    ${color3}Volume:${color1}[--datatype=VO]
    ${image [--datatype=CA] -n -p 0,0 -s 80x80}
    And the versions:
    conky-all - 1.8.0-1
    conkyrhythmbox - 2.16
    conkyforecast - 2.15

    And what is weird is some songs do not display the picture in the cronky, but there is a picture at the bottom left hand of Rhythmbox.
    That should be displaying.
    Here is a screenshot: (You can see that the pictures do not match in size)

    Last edited by Cavsfan; November 24th, 2010 at 09:08 PM.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  8. #368
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Good taste in music Cavsfan

    I'm really into the black keys right now, their new album called brothers is VERY good...

    Haven't been keeping up with the image issues, but all the config looks the way it should...on face value

  9. #369
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    3,993
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by kaivalagi View Post
    Good taste in music Cavsfan

    I'm really into the black keys right now, their new album called brothers is VERY good...

    Haven't been keeping up with the image issues, but all the config looks the way it should...on face value
    Thanks. I just don't think they will ever be the same without Layne Stayley! His voice is what I thought made them Alice in Chains.
    The one octave lower sound, Layne's fabulous voice. It is sad that the heroin got to him like it did! I can't believe people are still doing that crap!

    But, you are right their new album is good and I am glad Jerry is still going strong. Their new guy even sounds a lot like Layne
    although no one will ever replace his voice.

    Anyway, as you can see from the picture, the picture that displays on the Conky at the bottom left just has "Alice" instead of
    "Alice in Chains" like in the Rhythmbox picture. If you could help me figure out how to get the conky to resize it, I would be grateful!

    You have all of my files. Thanks for your help
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  10. #370
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    Anyway, as you can see from the picture, the picture that displays on the Conky at the bottom left just has "Alice" instead of
    "Alice in Chains" like in the Rhythmbox picture. If you could help me figure out how to get the conky to resize it, I would be grateful!

    You have all of my files. Thanks for your help
    Try posting all your files and asking in the conkyrc thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=281865), this must have been a problem for someone else in there before now...

Page 37 of 58 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •