Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    install kmix, enable all channels, check capture, set 'input source' to Int Mic I have tried many mixer apps with my 6930 but kmix is the only one that provides the option. Hope this helps.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sunrise, Florida
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    I've had a similar experience using an Acer Aspire 5810TZ.

    There is an excellent post on this that can be found at:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ht=acer+5810tz

    Fot the 5810TZ the problem was resolved by installing the linux-backports-modules-alsa-karmic-generic packages. They are easily found in synaptic or apt-get.

    I had tried a new installation of alsa, but it did not solve the issue permanently. It seems that between those two fixes, the majority of the intel integrated mic issues can be resolved. Thanks to PatrickVogeli, the power saving tips also brought my battery life much closer to the 8 hours it is advertised as running.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    8

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by EveryWhere View Post
    I did your steps (using the new version of alsa *.21) with Ubuntu 9.10 x64.. only cracks from my internal/external microphone. I've tried removing pulseaudio and rebooting also.. still the same. Suggestions?
    this is something extremely simple and as such easy to overlook but over amplification can result in either little or no audible recording, or in very staticy sounding garbled illegible recording. if you lower the input/capture volume to approximately one eighth to one quarter volume and then work your way up you may find that your problem is fixed. also thank you ideathproof for posting those step by step instructions they are very useful

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    380
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    The following worked for me.

    Now the system even switches from internal to external mic depending on whether the latter is plugged.

    I use Ubuntu. Anything starting with "K" might conflict with this solution.

    My device:
    Code:
    $ sudo lshw -C multimedia
            *-multimedia
                 description: Audio device
                 product: 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller
                 vendor: Intel Corporation
                 physical id: 1b
                 bus info: pci@0000:00:1b.0
                 version: 02
                 width: 64 bits
                 clock: 33MHz
                 capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
                 configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=0
                 resources: irq:16 memory:56340000-56343fff
    $
    1. Install padevchooser

    2. Reboot

    3. When adjusting the sound levels of the mic, unlock the channels and adjust left to 90% and right to 5%.

    Without Step 3 I had it working well except on Skype. Now it always work.

    Source:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1391884
    Last edited by leorolla; March 12th, 2010 at 02:40 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    Acer 4736z internal mic issue solved:

    http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-852766.html

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?


  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Yank in the Bahamas
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    This (ie post #21) is the most hopeful solution I've seen in this thread - but I'm reluctant to install kmix: it looks like it needs me to install the whole basic KDE stuff, and I don't want to do that - I like the standard Ubuntu interface much better (I've got an Aspire 532h w Ubuntu 10.4 installed, and this dead internal mic is STILL going on!

    anyway, if I install kmix through Synaptic, and all its dependencies, will the rest of Ubuntu stay the same, or will I find myself in KDE land?

    [update] I checked and I already am running alsa v1.0.21, so no point in loading an older version I think. Also, trying to use Ubuntu facilities first, I did a system test and found that the internal mic seemed to work fine! Then I tried it with th sound recording app in the System ->Sound menu, and that too works just fine. It seems that all I really have here is a compatibility problem with Skype, the most important thing I want that mic for. Skype simply does not recognize it at all. And this is Skyp v2.1.0.81, installed via Synaptic.

    At least this should be easier to pursue than a general dead microphone.
    Last edited by islandBilly; November 19th, 2010 at 10:51 PM. Reason: update

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    AZ
    Beans
    25
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    I don't know if this will work for you but
    1. I installed pavucontrol
    2. then opened Applications-> Sound & Video-> PulseAudio Volume Control.
    3. I then clicked on the "input devices" tab.
    4. I unlocked the sliders by clicking on the little lock icon.
    5. I moved the right slider all the way to the left (muted) and the left slider I adjusted as needed. Works perfect without tweaking the system.
    "The bass player's job is to interpret for the drummer" - Jazz

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Yank in the Bahamas
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by jazzman View Post
    I don't know if this will work for you but
    1. I installed pavucontrol
    2. then opened Applications-> Sound & Video-> PulseAudio Volume Control.
    3. I then clicked on the "input devices" tab.
    4. I unlocked the sliders by clicking on the little lock icon.
    5. I moved the right slider all the way to the left (muted) and the left slider I adjusted as needed. Works perfect without tweaking the system.
    Thanks, jazzman, it worked exactly as you said, and being able to download a relatively small package like that was very encouraging. I wanted to stay within the Ubuntu way if you know what I mean.

    I fussed a bit with the sliders for the mic, wondering if maybe using some of the right side would work out, and in fact the internal stereo mic works fine with both channels up and even - with anything except Skype. Only when I mute the right channel and then adjust the left does Skype work - AND I had to shut off Skype's automatic level setting to keep it working right, or it adjusts the level downward until you can't hear anything. So Skype is the bad actor here, but this work-around is great, thanks again!

    love to hear your bass work some time

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Acer Aspire Mic Fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by jazzman View Post
    I don't know if this will work for you but
    1. I installed pavucontrol
    2. then opened Applications-> Sound & Video-> PulseAudio Volume Control.
    3. I then clicked on the "input devices" tab.
    4. I unlocked the sliders by clicking on the little lock icon.
    5. I moved the right slider all the way to the left (muted) and the left slider I adjusted as needed. Works perfect without tweaking the system.
    Just wanted to say thank you too, worked like a charm... an Ubuntu friend referred me to this topic after trying almost everything... Now I can make skype calls from my netbook ^^

    /Acer Aspire One D260-Bkk running Ubuntu Linux 11.04/

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •