Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: S-Video TV Output

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    111

    S-Video TV Output

    How do I go about outputting to a TV using S-video on Hardy? I have Intel X3100 integrated graphics.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lynn Valley, BC
    Beans
    2,630
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: S-Video TV Output

    I think normally plug the S-video cable into computer and TV then change the TV input to S-video

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    155

    Re: S-Video TV Output

    Hi

    I am assuming you have only configured your vga in xorg.conf and not your s-video.

    The idea basically is you want to use both simultaneously. Now the changes to your xorg.conf differs depending if you want a clone or an extended desktop (like xinerama) for instance.

    Best place to do is to backup your xorg.conf and then edit it. I would check out www.ubuntuguide.org for some specific details on this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Beans
    1,886
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: S-Video TV Output

    Same graphics and same issue. hehe
    MacBook Air 3,1 128gb | Fujitsu Esprimo U9200 | Google Nexus One

    Pinoy ka ba? | Google Profile | Twitter: @AllanCaeg| Identi.ca: allancaeg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    111

    Re: S-Video TV Output

    I'm relatively new at this and not sure how exactly I would edit my xorg.conf.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lynn Valley, BC
    Beans
    2,630
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: S-Video TV Output

    If you have Nvidia graphics I think Nvidia settings should recognize your TV when it is plugged into S-video. It will modify your xorg.conf for you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    111

    Re: S-Video TV Output

    I have Intel X3100, not Nvidia.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lynn Valley, BC
    Beans
    2,630
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: S-Video TV Output

    Everything I've found on the internet sounds pretty negative for the 965 and S-video.
    I'm thinking about a board with GMA 950 and S-video and can't find much info on that one either.
    I know nothing so far, so just consider this post a friendly bump.
    Last edited by C.S.Cameron; September 30th, 2008 at 01:48 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    So.San Francisco
    Beans
    745

    Re: S-Video TV Output

    Try this link......not sure if it pertains to your issue....

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...hlight=s-video

    darco
    Reason: no beans

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •