Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [SOLVED] kcron/gato won't work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Des Moines area (Iowa)
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    [SOLVED] kcron/gato won't work

    I am having issues with two different programs, "kcron" and "gato".

    When I attempt to run gato from the Applications menu, nothing appears to happen. However, by using "tail -f /var/log/syslog", I get the following output:
    Code:
    Sep 21 17:08:10 multiboot kernel: [14812.432843] gato[9759]: segfault at 1 rip 7f84e5e2537e rsp 7fffee376bc0 error 4
    From the command line, it looks like:

    user@computer:~$ gato

    GLib-CRITICAL **: file ghash.c: line 138 (g_hash_table_lookup): assertion `hash_table != NULL' failed.

    Gtk-CRITICAL **: file gtkobject.c: line 1162 (gtk_object_ref): assertion `GTK_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed.

    GLib-CRITICAL **: file ghash.c: line 138 (g_hash_table_lookup): assertion `hash_table != NULL' failed.

    Gtk-CRITICAL **: file gtkobject.c: line 1069 (gtk_object_get_data_by_id): assertion `object != NULL' failed.
    Segmentation fault
    user@computer:~$


    As for kcron, it runs fine - it just won't execute any tasks. However, looking at the log when a scheduled task ("vlc /home/jaredtbrees/Media/alarm002.wav") is supposed to go off, I get the following from "tail -f /var/log/syslog":
    Code:
    Sep 21 17:15:01 multiboot /USR/SBIN/CRON[9825]: (jaredtbrees) CMD (vlc /home/jaredtbrees/Media/alarm002.wav)
    I have checked to make sure both cron and at are installed:
    Code:
    user@computer:~$ sudo apt-get install cron at
    [sudo] password for user: 
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    cron is already the newest version.
    at is already the newest version.
    The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
      dpatch
    Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 6 not upgraded.
    user@computer:~$
    Any ideas on what the problem could be?


    Thanks,

    computer_freak_8
    I'm just a geek...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Des Moines area (Iowa)
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Question Re: kcron/gato won't work

    Bump, please?
    I'm just a geek...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Des Moines area (Iowa)
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: kcron/gato won't work

    Bump
    I'm just a geek...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Des Moines area (Iowa)
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: kcron/gato won't work

    Bump???
    I'm just a geek...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Des Moines area (Iowa)
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Arrow Re: kcron/gato won't work

    Bumpity, bumpity, bump bump bump!
    I'm just a geek...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Des Moines area (Iowa)
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Exclamation Re: kcron/gato won't work

    BbbBBBbbbbbBBBBBBBBbbbbbbbbbbbbbump bump.
    I'm just a geek...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Des Moines area (Iowa)
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Question Re: kcron/gato won't work

    Okay, I understand if no one knows of a solution. But will somebody please post some sort of a reply so I know that my thread is visible? I just remembered that my computer was glitchy the day I started this thread. I don't know how this could have affected the visibility of this thread, but ya' never know, ya' know?
    I'm just a geek...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Des Moines area (Iowa)
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Talking Re: kcron/gato won't work

    I did some more looking around. Finally, I ran across someone that appeared to have the same problem. Thanks to user bigtomrodney over at the Linux Forums, I now know the reason it was failing, and I also have a solution.

    For those it may help:

    Cron doesn't have a connection to the X Server. I wondered if this was the case, but doubted it since I could run it from the command line. The explanation I read, however, made sense as to why my reasoning was wrong.

    Here's the solution: Write a "wrapper script".

    In my case, I ended up with pointing (via Kcron) my crontab file to a script I wrote and made executable. The script looks like this:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    export DISPLAY=:0.0
    vlc /home/jaredtbrees/Media/alarm002.wav
    exit 0
    #EOF
    Note: I first tried using "/bin/sh" as the program to run the script, but it didn't work, so I had to change it to "/bin/bash".
    I'm just a geek...

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •