Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    153
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    Hi there,

    Just started playing around with 8.10 doing my daily 'work'.

    I can not set my library folder to

    "smb://server/music"

    like I could previous versions; "operation not supported".

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    Have you tried going to Places->Connect to server and connecting to your server? I think samba server then should be included in file open dialog. I can't test it myself, because i have no samba servers in my network.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ayrshire
    Beans
    40,291
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    can't give you the answer but just to say I can't play music from my samba shares either, you are not alone, I need to copy them over to a local disk.

    Hope someone can share the answer if there is one

    zolookas is correct in that once connecting to the samba server makes them show up in the file open dialogue but Rhythmbox doesn't want to open the files.
    Last edited by howefield; September 21st, 2008 at 08:26 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    153
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    Thanks for the replies, guys.

    Yes, with nautilus for example I can connect to the share and also play them in Totem. It is only Rhythmbox.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    734
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    153
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    Quote Originally Posted by UbuWu View Post
    Just filed a bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ox/+bug/273294

    Hope this is correct and usefull, first one I filed. If not, please tell me how to improve/correct. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    734
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    You explained the problem very well. One more useful thing to include is the version of rhythmbox you are currently running. I tagged the bug as a potential regression in intrepid.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    153
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    Many thanks. I added the version of the apps affected (IMO).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    734
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    It is best to get the versions from synaptic so you have the full version number. You are probably using rhythmbox 0.11.6svn20080916-0ubuntu1. This is important because e.g. there could be a 0.11.6svn20080916-0ubuntu2 fixing this problem and with only 0.11.6 it would be impossible to know which one you had.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Rhythmbox: No samba support?

    If you install smbfs you can manually mount your shares until the problem is fixed,

    Code:
    sudo mount //server/music /media/music
    Jim

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •